or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Does a shovel count as a club?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Does a shovel count as a club?

post #1 of 12
Thread Starter 

I thought winter ended already but apparently in South Dakota it's winter for another month!  We've gotten more snow this month then the previous two winters combined.  Can I replace a club with a shovel and go golfing? c2_beer.gif

post #2 of 12

Same in CO, just got blasted again and will continue through the night. Supposed to be 70 on Sun will probably be out there. If there's a problem it's the season is getting off to a slow start so the courses are jammed with people on the few nice days there are. Courses I frequent that are usually wide open and easy to walk on have ground to a halt last 3 times I've been out.

 

I was off the 1st tee at 3:10 PM yesterday thinking I'd get in 18 before dark as a single. The guy in the pro shop said I was 30 minutes behind the last group out, I caught them on #2. In front of them at least 3 even slower groups. Started to sprinkle by the time I made it through 5 holes at 5:14 PM, it was getting breezy and cold so I bailed. Was too much waiting around for me. I was playing more in Jan and Feb.

post #3 of 12

Appendix II in the rules of golf clearly states the requirements for a golf club. A shovel does not meet these requirements and will thus not count as a club.

 

 

Appendix II – Design Of Clubs

A player in doubt as to the conformity of a club should consult the USGA.

A manufacturer should submit to the USGA a sample of a club to be manufactured for a ruling as to whether the club conforms with the Rules. The sample becomes the property of the USGA for reference purposes. If a manufacturer fails to submit a sample or, having submitted a sample, fails to await a ruling before manufacturing and/or marketing the club, the manufacturer assumes the risk of a ruling that the club does not conform with the Rules.

The following paragraphs prescribe general regulations for the design of clubs, together with specifications and interpretations. Further information relating to these regulations and their proper interpretation is provided in “A Guide to the Rules on Clubs and Balls.”

Where a club, or part of a club, is required to meet a specification within the Rules, it must be designed and manufactured with the intention of meeting that specification.

post #4 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeph View Post

Appendix II in the rules of golf clearly states the requirements for a golf club. A shovel does not meet these requirements and will thus not count as a club.

 

 

Appendix II – Design Of Clubs

A player in doubt as to the conformity of a club should consult the USGA.

A manufacturer should submit to the USGA a sample of a club to be manufactured for a ruling as to whether the club conforms with the Rules. The sample becomes the property of the USGA for reference purposes. If a manufacturer fails to submit a sample or, having submitted a sample, fails to await a ruling before manufacturing and/or marketing the club, the manufacturer assumes the risk of a ruling that the club does not conform with the Rules.

The following paragraphs prescribe general regulations for the design of clubs, together with specifications and interpretations. Further information relating to these regulations and their proper interpretation is provided in “A Guide to the Rules on Clubs and Balls.”

Where a club, or part of a club, is required to meet a specification within the Rules, it must be designed and manufactured with the intention of meeting that specification.

You must be fun at parties.

post #5 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattplusness View Post

You must be fun at parties.

The irony of this post is fun-tastic!

post #6 of 12
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattplusness View Post

You must be fun at parties.

Hahaha...I love this post!

 

So what you're saying is I can carry my shovel and 14 clubs.  Hmm, this really opens up the possibilities.  This must also mean my foot wedge doesn't count as a club!

post #7 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattplusness View Post

You must be fun at parties.
Yes. I'm the one that never show up.
post #8 of 12

It made me think of this.

See Below**

post #9 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeph View Post

Appendix II in the rules of golf clearly states the requirements for a golf club. A shovel does not meet these requirements and will thus not count as a club.

 

 

Appendix II – Design Of Clubs

A player in doubt as to the conformity of a club should consult the USGA.

A manufacturer should submit to the USGA a sample of a club to be manufactured for a ruling as to whether the club conforms with the Rules. The sample becomes the property of the USGA for reference purposes. If a manufacturer fails to submit a sample or, having submitted a sample, fails to await a ruling before manufacturing and/or marketing the club, the manufacturer assumes the risk of a ruling that the club does not conform with the Rules.

The following paragraphs prescribe general regulations for the design of clubs, together with specifications and interpretations. Further information relating to these regulations and their proper interpretation is provided in “A Guide to the Rules on Clubs and Balls.”

Where a club, or part of a club, is required to meet a specification within the Rules, it must be designed and manufactured with the intention of meeting that specification.

 

CREATOR: gd-jpeg v1.0 (using IJG JPEG v62), quality = 90

post #10 of 12

does a bank shot count, slap it of the shit house door bounce off the palm tree off the cart then dribble on the green 2 ft from the cup and then 3 putt z1_censored.gif is that legale2_whistling.gif

post #11 of 12
Haha you poor folks! Here in Singapore it's sunny everyday(;
post #12 of 12

Yeah I feel for you guys. Just yesterday it was 85 degrees here in some parts of the Bay Area.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Does a shovel count as a club?