or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Tour Talk › 2013 Wells Fargo Championship Discussion Thread
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

2013 Wells Fargo Championship Discussion Thread - Page 3

post #37 of 78
Just heard that Phil hasn't missed a putt from inside 10 feet so far.

Kinda think he's going to 3-putt a 5-footer at some time this weekend.
post #38 of 78
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamo View Post

Just heard that Phil hasn't missed a putt from inside 10 feet so far.

Kinda think he's going to 3-putt a 5-footer at some time this weekend.

 

Yeah he'll get bored and want to make it interesting.  With the pace he hits his putts (capture speed), going to work well on these greens.

post #39 of 78

Oh wow, haven't been able to watch all this week until now... Those greens are horrendous! I would ask for my money back if I went to a course with greens in that shape.

post #40 of 78
I thought the talk about the greens was overblown.. until I saw them!!! Yikes. Looks like the places I play, haha. Kind of refreshing to see the pros have to be human.

Those greens look like they have leprosy.
post #41 of 78

First I heard of the the greens problems ws today, because this week was exam week at the university, so all of us staff were really busy.

 

But now its officially off for the summer! Nothing but sun and golf until September. :p

post #42 of 78

Anyone see Sergio's gaff?  He misplaced the ball on the green, and then the Tour officials didn't have the guts to call the penalty.  He marked to the side, then replaced the ball in front of the coin, moving it about an inch to one side in the process.  It reportedly took the committee about 45 minutes to come up with a no foul decision.  It took me one viewing to call shame on the committee.

 

This is the link to the VIDEO

post #43 of 78
How about Nick Watney's cold hosel rocket on 17 tee?! b1_ohmy.gif
post #44 of 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

How about Nick Watney's cold hosel rocket on 17 tee?! b1_ohmy.gif

I'm sure this video will be taken off YouTube fairly soon, but PGATour.com doesn't have the video yet, so:
post #45 of 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

Anyone see Sergio's gaff?  He misplaced the ball on the green, and then the Tour officials didn't have the guts to call the penalty.  He marked to the side, then replaced the ball in front of the coin, moving it about an inch to one side in the process.  It reportedly took the committee about 45 minutes to come up with a no foul decision.  It took me one viewing to call shame on the committee.

 

This is the link to the VIDEO

Looks totally accidental and extremely minor to me.

post #46 of 78

How's the fashion statement doing?

post #47 of 78

I felt bad for Watney on 17.  I feel stupid when I shank the ball and I'm a crappy weekend golfer, can't imagine what went through his head when it happened. 

post #48 of 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApocG10 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

Anyone see Sergio's gaff?  He misplaced the ball on the green, and then the Tour officials didn't have the guts to call the penalty.  He marked to the side, then replaced the ball in front of the coin, moving it about an inch to one side in the process.  It reportedly took the committee about 45 minutes to come up with a no foul decision.  It took me one viewing to call shame on the committee.

 

This is the link to the VIDEO

Looks totally accidental and extremely minor to me.

Degree makes no difference.  When he player is required to replace his ball it must be placed on the spot it was lifted from.  I practice, it results in effectively being as close as possible, but Sergio's ball didn't even meet that requirement.  His misplacement is just as much a foul as Tiger's misdrop in the Masters.  He could have gained just as much of an advantage, given the condition of the greens at Quail Hollow this week.  All I see is another case of the Tour coddling its players.  At either of the upcoming Opens, that would have been a 2 stroke penalty.

post #49 of 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

Degree makes no difference.  When he player is required to replace his ball it must be placed on the spot it was lifted from.  I practice, it results in effectively being as close as possible, but Sergio's ball didn't even meet that requirement.  His misplacement is just as much a foul as Tiger's misdrop in the Masters.  He could have gained just as much of an advantage, given the condition of the greens at Quail Hollow this week.  All I see is another case of the Tour coddling its players.  At either of the upcoming Opens, that would have been a 2 stroke penalty.

I agree, but to be consistent, shouldn't they review this and assign him a two stroke penalty as they did Tiger before tomorrows round?

post #50 of 78

Its been decided by the people in charge, and that's not you fourputt, that no penalty to Sergio.  He made no mistake despite what you or others may think you have seen. Sergio plays by the rules and lets the rulers decide in cases like this. 

One thing i would like to call the PGA Tour on is their secret policy of 'players forbidden to comment on poor course conditions'. Bland statements like ' we all have the same greens to putt on'. or 'bum weather, too bad' are ok. but for a player to say outright ' these greens stink and belong to the bush league' are totally not acceptable, even if true, to the PGA. A player who publicly speaks this way will be fined a secret amount of money.  This is a disgraceful policy.

post #51 of 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApocG10 View Post

Looks totally accidental and extremely minor to me.

Accidental makes no difference!
post #52 of 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by joekelly View Post

Its been decided by the people in charge, and that's not you fourputt, that no penalty to Sergio.  He made no mistake despite what you or others may think you have seen.

Sorry. You're demonstrating your ignorance of the rules here.




Edited to apologize. Those last two should have been multi-quoted.....
post #53 of 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by joekelly View Post

Its been decided by the people in charge, and that's not you fourputt, that no penalty to Sergio.  He made no mistake despite what you or others may think you have seen. Sergio plays by the rules and lets the rulers decide in cases like this. 

One thing i would like to call the PGA Tour on is their secret policy of 'players forbidden to comment on poor course conditions'. Bland statements like ' we all have the same greens to putt on'. or 'bum weather, too bad' are ok. but for a player to say outright ' these greens stink and belong to the bush league' are totally not acceptable, even if true, to the PGA. A player who publicly speaks this way will be fined a secret amount of money.  This is a disgraceful policy.

 

As I said, the Tour coddling its players doesn't make it right.  The "rulers" may have decided, but they decided wrong.  If you actually watched the video, the ball was placed at least an inch off from its original location.  It's easy to see because he doesn't even move after lifting the ball.  He rotates it and puts it back down an inch away, and it's easy to see the change in the relationship between the ball and the hole.  There is no camera angle involved.  The act is obvious.  That is a clear breach of Rule 20-3a:

 

Quote:
The ball must be placed on the spot from which it was lifted...
 
...If a ball to be replaced is placed other than on the spot from which it was lifted or moved and the error is not corrected as provided in Rule 20-6the player incurs the general penalty, loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play, for a breach of the applicable Rule.

 

The Rule in this case is 16-1b:

 

 

 

Quote:

b. Lifting and Cleaning Ball

A ball on the putting green may be lifted and, if desired, cleaned. The position of the ball must be marked before it is lifted and the ball must be replaced (see Rule 20-1). 

 

There is no fudge factor allowed when replacing a ball.  Replacing it that far away is a rules breach, and stupid as well.  But then I've never heard anyone call Sergio a rocket scientist.  e2_whistling.gif

post #54 of 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

Anyone see Sergio's gaff?  He misplaced the ball on the green, and then the Tour officials didn't have the guts to call the penalty.  He marked to the side, then replaced the ball in front of the coin, moving it about an inch to one side in the process.  It reportedly took the committee about 45 minutes to come up with a no foul decision.  It took me one viewing to call shame on the committee.

 

This is the link to the VIDEO

 

It looks like he misplaced and if so the penalty is two strokes but..... It is difficult to see if he really misplaced. Think you need special software to be sure. Something like they use at tennis, Hawkeye?

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Tour Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Tour Talk › 2013 Wells Fargo Championship Discussion Thread