All three groups represented in the joint rules committee have agreed that it's a scrape. Why Canada missed it at first is, and probably will remain, a mystery. Maybe they just didn't want to come down on a fellow Canadian. For anyone who has made a study of the rules as I have for more than 20 years, it's quite obvious. There are some things about the rules which do puzzle me, but this isn't one of them.
I don't know that it is THAT obvious. There is a grey area in there somewhere, is there not? I mean, the pitching method I recently learned involves actively using the bounce of the club to help give you room for error. It does this by keeping the club from entering the ground, and instead gliding along under the ball allowing you to hit it fat without really hitting it fat. Couldn't a person argue that that is "scraping?" I mean, in my case, we're talking about 2-3" maximum of club contact with the ground, and in his case, maybe something closer to 12-15" so there is an obvious difference there, but where is the line drawn?
Is it simply because he starts with the club on the ground? Or does it have something to do with the fact that his hands are separated?
I'm not saying that I disagree with the ruling, but that I don't think it's fair for you to say that it's "quite obvious."
Ever scrape a plate into the garbage? Same motion, same result. Scrape is scrape.