or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Tiger Woods violated USGA rule 13-2 15th hole TPC Sunday final round 2013
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Tiger Woods violated USGA rule 13-2 15th hole TPC Sunday final round 2013

post #1 of 18
Thread Starter 

Tiger's second shot on hole 15 final round, went into a grass pothole next to the green in deep rough.  When he walked past his ball he pressed the wedge down right behind his ball which is the line of play. this appears to have broken rule 13-2, "Pressing a club on the ground".  He was not addressing the ball.  I can't find the video on the web so I can't post it on youtube for others to see.  Maybe someone who has the video can look at it and comment and explain why its not a violation. By pressing his club down behind the ball he created a better lie.

post #2 of 18

yada, yada, yada yawn.

post #3 of 18
Thread Starter 

turd boy

post #4 of 18
People, this is golf. Accusing someone of cheating in golf IS A HUGE DEAL. It's not like baseball, where Clay Buchholz has some goopy stuff on his forearm and the opposing manager bitches a bit.

Calling someone a deliberate cheat is not something to take lightly, and frankly, "well, I couldn't find a video anywhere buy dammit I saw it!!!" isn't good enough.
post #5 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinroyd View Post

turd boy

Not a bad comeback. Welcome to the sandtrap.

Try to excuse Mr. Desmond. There has been quite a few threads lately about "all" of Tigers rules violations.
post #6 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinroyd View Post

Tiger's second shot on hole 15 final round, went into a grass pothole next to the green in deep rough.  When he walked past his ball he pressed the wedge down right behind his ball which is the line of play. this appears to have broken rule 13-2, "Pressing a club on the ground".  He was not addressing the ball.  I can't find the video on the web so I can't post it on youtube for others to see.  Maybe someone who has the video can look at it and comment and explain why its not a violation. By pressing his club down behind the ball he created a better lie.

 

First of all, nothing behind the ball is "line of play".  Line of play extends from the ball to the hole.  The player is allowed to ground the club behind the ball.  Grounding the club in grass is defined as resting the entire weight of the club on the grass, which will naturally press down some of the grass.  As long as the ball doesn't move, there is no breach of any rule.

 

 

 

Quote:

Line Of Play

 

The “line of play’’ is the direction that the player wishes his ball to take after a stroke, plus a reasonable distance on either side of the intended direction. The line of play extends vertically upwards from the ground, but does not extend beyond the hole.

 

 

You can crawl back under your rock now.

post #7 of 18
Thread Starter 

another turd strike

post #8 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinroyd View Post

another turd strike

You need to quit insulting yourself.

 

Bad for your self-esteem.

 

Try another topic ... one that is somewhat interesting, but not this drivel.


Welcome aboard.

post #9 of 18
Thread Starter 

Nah, done posting here, but after reading other posts on this rule, he cheated. It was a very sneaky smooth move.  Take a look at the video if you can find it.

post #10 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinroyd View Post

Nah, done posting here, but after reading other posts on this rule, he cheated. It was a very sneaky smooth move.  Take a look at the video if you can find it.

Right... and you're the one who found it.

 

Now go away, troll.


Can we delete this thread and save the bandwidth?

post #11 of 18

When Erik get on tomorrow this tiny dick will be gone.

post #12 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinroyd View Post

Nah, done posting here, but after reading other posts on this rule, he cheated. It was a very sneaky smooth move.  Take a look at the video if you can find it.

 

Most, if not all, players usually first put their club behind the ball in the rough. Then they move to make few practice strokes. Bigger issue I have with that than improving the lie is the possibility to accidentally move the ball.

post #13 of 18

what looks odd to me is where tiger took releif from the hasard on 14 !!!

 

from the tee the ball seams to have found nothing but water on the left, this giving him a drop about 30 yards upwards from the tee box at best.

 

he probable would have double boggied from there as well anyway.

post #14 of 18
AWESOME THREAD.........no, not really...
post #15 of 18

Good grief.

 

Where DO these people come from?  

post #16 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

Good grief.

Where DO these people come from?  

Lol, and why do they only want to "discuss" one thing?

Is their only interest in golf attacking Tiger? Are they even golf fans or are they just single minded Tiger haters? If Tiger retired tomorrow would they lose all interest in the sport?
post #17 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest Jones View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

Good grief.

Where DO these people come from?  

Lol, and why do they only want to "discuss" one thing?

Is their only interest in golf attacking Tiger? Are they even golf fans or are they just single minded Tiger haters? If Tiger retired tomorrow would they lose all interest in the sport?

 

To be fair, Bubble may be an honest poster.  His profile puts him in France, so he may have chosen not to wade through the tedium of page upon page in the other threads where it's been discussed.  But that other character who just showed up last night to start this "thread" and bash Tiger is clearly just a jerk with an ax to grind.  His best post is his last one where he says he's done here.... certainly hope he sticks with that commitment. c3_clap.gif

post #18 of 18

Money says he is just a previously banned nitwit that got back in.

 

Fourputt,

 

I must say that I have really enjoyed your posts over the last week.  They have been informative and damn funny at times.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Tiger Woods violated USGA rule 13-2 15th hole TPC Sunday final round 2013