or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › QUESTION: One ball rule
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

QUESTION: One ball rule - Page 2

post #19 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilikefishes View Post

What section do you play in Erik?

 

Western New York. Negative on the same number (though to be honest I thought you were referring to the PGA Tour - as you know people commonly say "PGA tournaments" when they're referring to PGA - though our section does not require the same NUMBER ball either, we do have the one-ball rule in effect).

post #20 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilikefishes View Post

@Harmonious, I am not sure how the USGA uses/interprets the 1 ball rule. In PGA tournaments it is same brand, model and number. Most of us use 1 # on the ball anyways. Superstition and all.

 

The PGA Tour Hardcard does not say that. None of the Tours or USGA or R&A include number either.

They use the CoC as in the Rules Appendix (quoted above).

post #21 of 35
Thread Starter 

Thanks for all your thoughts... I still find this rule silly, but very clear. I agree that it COULD be driven by manufacturers, but I am a bit of a consipiracy therorist...

 

Just to clarify, I've taken all the tour level balls out this year and played rounds with them, taking very detailed notes. The only area where they are completely seperate is in the wind...where callaway fails horribly. Otherwise they are all pretty equal...so I will continue to say this rule is silly if not stupid for those reasons. Either way, my opinion means nothing...just thought I'd give it one last rant.

post #22 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Second Chance View Post

Just to clarify, I've taken all the tour level balls out this year and played rounds with them, taking very detailed notes. The only area where they are completely seperate is in the wind...where callaway fails horribly. Otherwise they are all pretty equal...

 

As you know, "pretty equal" (to a 2.3) is not the same as "100% identical" (to all).

post #23 of 35
To me that should be allowed. If you can learn which balls and exactly how hard to hit them. You should be allowed. That's skill.
post #24 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by hercules71185 View Post

To me that should be allowed. If you can learn which balls and exactly how hard to hit them. You should be allowed. That's skill.

 

No, skill is when you are able to hit all of those shots with the same ball.  Changing balls for each type of shot is just a band aid for a lack of skill.

post #25 of 35
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post

 

As you know, "pretty equal" (to a 2.3) is not the same as "100% identical" (to all).

Fair enough... and I obviously still feel like there are big differences around the green, especially putting--but that is only going against my case so I'll suck it UP! ONE BALL... :-)

post #26 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilikefishes View Post


You announce the ball and # you are playing at the beginning of the round. You have to play that ball all the easy through the round. If for instance, you showed up with 6 Pro V1 #3's and lost them all before you finished the 18th hole. You would be DISQUALIFIED. It matters because people cheat and those are the rules of the game. Just like you can't carry 15 clubs, kick the ball from behind a tree or mark your ball in front and then replace it behind the ball. Hope this clarifies it a little for you.

That is only partially true.  Appendix 1 Part C of the Rules of Golf refer to the same brand and model of ball...not the same number.  Thus, in your example above, the Brand would be Titleist and the Model would be Pro V1.  The #3 has nothing at all to do with the One Ball Rule.  You can have #3s, #1s, whatever...as long as they are Titleist Pro V1.

post #27 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilikefishes View Post

@Harmonious, I am not sure how the USGA uses/interprets the 1 ball rule. In PGA tournaments it is same brand, model and number. Most of us use 1 # on the ball anyways. Superstition and all.

So what do you do for provisional balls? Different ball number? Slightly different markings on the ball? If your sufficiently superstitious to use the same number presumably you're not going to want to make changes to how you mark your ball up?

post #28 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wansteadimp View Post

So what do you do for provisional balls? Different ball number? Slightly different markings on the ball? If your sufficiently superstitious to use the same number presumably you're not going to want to make changes to how you mark your ball up?

Different mark. Different color ink, 2 dots instead of one, etc.....
post #29 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post


Different mark. Different color ink, 2 dots instead of one, etc.....

 

But what about the superstitious crowd?

post #30 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by luu5 View Post

 

But what about the superstitious crowd?

Yep, personally I'm not superstitious. i can see some people wanting to change the markings to try something different.

post #31 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by luu5 View Post

 

But what about the superstitious crowd?

 

Don't hit it OB.   a3_biggrin.gif

post #32 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by luu5 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post


Different mark. Different color ink, 2 dots instead of one, etc.....

 

But what about the superstitious crowd?

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wansteadimp View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilikefishes View Post

@Harmonious, I am not sure how the USGA uses/interprets the 1 ball rule. In PGA tournaments it is same brand, model and number. Most of us use 1 # on the ball anyways. Superstition and all.

So what do you do for provisional balls? Different ball number? Slightly different markings on the ball? If your sufficiently superstitious to use the same number presumably you're not going to want to make changes to how you mark your ball up?

 

Who cares.  The rules don't care if you are superstitious.  That's your problem.  For me, I put a quick "P" on the ball if it happens to be the same number and marking.  I mark some of my balls with a black marker and some with a blue one, so I usually try to have one of each (say, black in my right pocket and blue in the left).  I never hit an identically marked ball for my provisional ball.

post #33 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

 

Who cares.  The rules don't care if you are superstitious.  That's your problem. 

 

Chill out man! Getting hot in Bahamas?

post #34 of 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by luu5 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

 

Who cares.  The rules don't care if you are superstitious.  That's your problem. 

 

Chill out man! Getting hot in Bahamas?

 

Facts are facts.  The rules don't care.  Superstition is irrational.  

post #35 of 35

We just had a 36 hole member/member tournament over the weekend where we played different formats for each 9 holes. One 9 was selective drive/alternate shot and another was Chapman. There really was no way to enforce a one ball rule. We didn't even try.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › QUESTION: One ball rule