or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Is it within the rules to ground your club IN FRONT OF the ball?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Is it within the rules to ground your club IN FRONT OF the ball?

post #1 of 6
Thread Starter 

One alignment tool that I started using today was to ground my club perpendicular to the impact point (essentially creating a target line), then align my body as necessary before moving the club around behind the ball. 

 

Is this legal?

 

Yes, I realize it's unorthodox and weird, but it worked.

post #2 of 6

Yes.  Keep in mid that it is still considered as grounding, and all of the issues with the ball moving after grounding still apply.

post #3 of 6
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

Yes.  Keep in mid that it is still considered as grounding, and all of the issues with the ball moving after grounding still apply.

Thanks for your help

post #4 of 6

Definition

 

A player has “addressed the ball” when he has grounded his club immediately in front of or immediately behind the ball, whether or not he has taken his stance.

post #5 of 6
That's why Nicklaus said he never grounded his club. If it accidentally moved, he technically, had not addressed the ball.
So, if you ground the club in front, just don't hit the ball as you move your club back over the ball.
post #6 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by frazzled924 View Post

That's why Nicklaus said he never grounded his club. If it accidentally moved, he technically, had not addressed the ball.
So, if you ground the club in front, just don't hit the ball as you move your club back over the ball.

 

You may touch (but not move) the ball with your club when addressing it.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Is it within the rules to ground your club IN FRONT OF the ball?