or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Personal Best Score Question
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Personal Best Score Question - Page 2

Poll Results: Would you consider a round with an incomplete hole as a potential personal best score?

 
  • 91% (31)
    No way, you have to hole them all out to record a personal best.
  • 5% (2)
    Yes, if my most likely score on the uncompleted hole would have resulted in a personal best
  • 0% (0)
    Of course as I rarely complete all holes according to the rules of golf.
  • 2% (1)
    Something else (please explain)
34 Total Votes  
post #19 of 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

My PB mentioned above came in the 3rd round (out of 4) in the 1989 club championship, so it holds a special place for me, even more than just being my best score ever.

It is cool when one's best score comes in a significant round or competition.  While scoring well with some friends is great, knowing that one managed a personal best while in the heat of competition is an even better memory to savor.

post #20 of 29
Thread Starter 

Follow up question- Do you consider it a personal best score if you were playing "winter rules" or "lift/clean/place"?

post #21 of 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEfree View Post

Follow up question- Do you consider it a personal best score if you were playing "winter rules" or "lift/clean/place"?

Depends weather (a2_wink.gif) or not it's winter.
post #22 of 29
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest Jones View Post


Depends weather (a2_wink.gif) or not it's winter.

What about June? http://www.golfdigest.com/golf-tours-news/blogs/local-knowledge/2012/06/remembering-al-geibergers-59-on-its-35th-anniversary.html

 

I have NEVER seen the course I currently play post "winter rules" or similar sign, but it is snowing outside now and the fairways still have aeration holes that are filling in.

post #23 of 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEfree View Post

Follow up question- Do you consider it a personal best score if you were playing "winter rules" or "lift/clean/place"?

 

If there were a legitimate reason to play "lift/clean/place" AND it's done properly, then yes.  

 

By "legitimate" and "properly," I'm referring to some clubs that play winter rules if it's a little soggy in the spring and/or are liberal in enforcing that it's only done in the fairway.

post #24 of 29
I know I've wrestle with this moral dilemma. You've got a great round going, you hook or slice a shot but think it stayed in. You get up there and can't find your ball. You spend a few minutes looking and finally realize its OB. At this point the next group is waiting on the tee box. You're obligated under the rules to return to the tee box, but instead take a drop and 2 strokes, rationalizing it by saying you would've done at least that well with your second tee shot and to keep pace of play.

I think for a social round, I'm good with that logic... Mark it with an asterisk and don't post the score.

If it happened to be on target for a personal best, I'd probably head back to the box if it was late in the round.
post #25 of 29

Last year my best friend was shooting about to a 12 on the first hole before he picked up.  He then proceeded to shoot 90 over the next 17 holes.  I told him to go back and play one and he carded a par.  He has never even come close to breaking a 100.  So I would say this should count as his best round.

post #26 of 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by trackster View Post

Last year my best friend was shooting about to a 12 on the first hole before he picked up.  He then proceeded to shoot 90 over the next 17 holes.  I told him to go back and play one and he carded a par.  He has never even come close to breaking a 100.  So I would say this should count as his best round.

 

He can take some confidence from it, sure.  But that's no different from taking a mulligan.  He played the same hole over again.  That's not a real score.

post #27 of 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEfree View Post

Follow up question- Do you consider it a personal best score if you were playing "winter rules" or "lift/clean/place"?

 

I don't have to worry about it, since the only time I've ever played preferred lies is when the local rule has been activated for a tournament.  I play by normal rules year round for my casual golf.  If I ever played a course which was so sloppy that I had to call it up on my own, I seriously doubt that the conditions would allow for play even approaching my PB.

post #28 of 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

I don't have to worry about it, since the only time I've ever played preferred lies is when the local rule has been activated for a tournament.  I play by normal rules year round for my casual golf.  If I ever played a course which was so sloppy that I had to call it up on my own, I seriously doubt that the conditions would allow for play even approaching my PB.

 

^^^^^^ This ^^^^^^

post #29 of 29

I couldn't consider it as a personal best with 17 holes completed and one hole "estimated".  My personal best is a 78 with a triple bogey on a par 4 on the back at the PGA West Palmer Course.  I'd like a do over on that hole, and a re-putt on some of my five three putts, but that's golf.  Almost every round I pay has one or two or ten or eighteen holes that I'd like back, but I have to play and count them all for a final score.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Personal Best Score Question