or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Poll: OB/Lost Ball vs. Hazard & Unplayable Lie Penalties
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Poll: OB/Lost Ball vs. Hazard & Unplayable Lie Penalties - Page 7

Poll Results: Should the penalties for Out of Bounds and Lost Balls be more severe than penalties for Hazards and Unplayables?

 
  • 52% (22)
    Yes, they should be more severe
  • 40% (17)
    No, the should be the same
  • 7% (3)
    Undecided
42 Total Votes  
post #109 of 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest Jones View Post


Right. I don't see how much undue advantage would be gained, I mean you're laying 4 on your second shot. And it's only going to occur on those occasions where you fully expect to find your ball in a playable position but don't.
.

There is a huge advantage - there is a lot more pressure on someone teeing off who is already hitting 3. One OB can lead to 3 - I've seen it in our tourneys.

 

There is no excuse to not hit a provisional if there is any question. We always do and it is amazing how many times it has covered our asses, not because the ball was OB, but because it is just plain lost.

post #110 of 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by meenman View Post

There is a huge advantage - there is a lot more pressure on someone teeing off who is already hitting 3. One OB can lead to 3 - I've seen it in our tourneys.

 

There is no excuse to not hit a provisional if there is any question. We always do and it is amazing how many times it has covered our asses, not because the ball was OB, but because it is just plain lost.

I have to agree.  I know when I have hit a ball OB in a tournament, I'm already pissed/frustrated for going OB so it makes me a lot more nervous hoping the next shot doesn't do the same.  If I were allowed to go up and take a drop it would eliminate that.

 

I do like the idea that in non-tournament rounds the drop could be allowed with the additional penalty to speed up play.  I don't think it has ever been an issue for me when my ball is near OB, I always hit a provisional.  It is the lost ball that I see that is the problem.  Sometimes the golf course just swallows a ball up and it's almost always in an area you should find it, so hitting a provisional would be almost stupid if you know where it is.

post #111 of 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by meenman View Post

There is a huge advantage - there is a lot more pressure on someone teeing off who is already hitting 3. One OB can lead to 3 - I've seen it in our tourneys.

 

There is no excuse to not hit a provisional if there is any question. We always do and it is amazing how many times it has covered our asses, not because the ball was OB, but because it is just plain lost.

 

Yeah, that's certainly something to consider.  But remember that droppin 2 club lengths from OB is probably a terrible lie.  You could lose 50+ yards, and lie in deep rough without a clear line of vision.  I'm not sure that dropping would always be advantageous to your score.  It certainly could, though.

post #112 of 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by meenman View Post

There is a huge advantage - there is a lot more pressure on someone teeing off who is already hitting 3. One OB can lead to 3 - I've seen it in our tourneys.

 

There is no excuse to not hit a provisional if there is any question. We always do and it is amazing how many times it has covered our asses, not because the ball was OB, but because it is just plain lost.

You are probably right about the psych-out factor, but remember, I'm specifically talking non-competitive casual rounds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCfanatic35 View Post

I have to agree.  I know when I have hit a ball OB in a tournament, I'm already pissed/frustrated for going OB so it makes me a lot more nervous hoping the next shot doesn't do the same.  If I were allowed to go up and take a drop it would eliminate that.

 

I do like the idea that in non-tournament rounds the drop could be allowed with the additional penalty to speed up play.  I don't think it has ever been an issue for me when my ball is near OB, I always hit a provisional.  It is the lost ball that I see that is the problem.  Sometimes the golf course just swallows a ball up and it's almost always in an area you should find it, so hitting a provisional would be almost stupid if you know where it is.

This is what I'm talking about, obviously if your competing in any kind of official context you go back and re-tee. I'm talking about your Saturday foursome on a packed course.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsc123 View Post

 

Yeah, that's certainly something to consider.  But remember that droppin 2 club lengths from OB is probably a terrible lie.  You could lose 50+ yards, and lie in deep rough without a clear line of vision.  I'm not sure that dropping would always be advantageous to your score.  It certainly could, though.

Bolded is my thinking too, we're not talking a choice drop in the short stuff. It goes back to what a previous poster said,may have been you, a player shouldn't have to choose between pissing off everyone in your foursome (and the foursome behind you) and following the rules. I'm also not suggesting that this replaces provisionals, it would be just for those occasions where no provisional was hit as the player had no reason to think the ball would be lost. I don't think playing a provisional on every hole, just in case is going to be a reasonable solution especially considering this whole conversation is about addressing the pace of play issues. If there are no issues with the pace of play then by all means, go back and re-tee.

post #113 of 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest Jones View Post

I'm talking about your Saturday foursome on a packed course.

 

This is exactly where the BS drop gives an advantage.

 

Nothing better than someone not hitting a provisional, having to take the walk (or ride) of shame back to the tee box and now trying to keep it in play with another foursome on the teebox.

 

I almost feel bad for that guy when he duffs his 2nd drive, (not really) because he should have hit a provisional.

post #114 of 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by meenman View Post

There is a huge advantage - there is a lot more pressure on someone teeing off who is already hitting 3. One OB can lead to 3 - I've seen it in our tourneys.

There is no excuse to not hit a provisional if there is any question. We always do and it is amazing how many times it has covered our asses, not because the ball was OB, but because it is just plain lost.

Gotta agree. That second shot, whether provisional or not is a real test for most! Hitting 3 off the tee sucks....hitting 5 sucks worse!
post #115 of 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by meenman View Post

This is exactly where the BS drop gives an advantage.

Nothing better than someone not hitting a provisional, having to take the walk (or ride) of shame back to the tee box and now trying to keep it in play with another foursome on the teebox.

I almost feel bad for that guy when he duffs his 2nd drive, (not really) because he should have hit a provisional.

Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

Gotta agree. That second shot, whether provisional or not is a real test for most! Hitting 3 off the tee sucks....hitting 5 sucks worse!

Fine **** you guys. Lol.
post #116 of 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post


Gotta agree. That second shot, whether provisional or not is a real test for most! Hitting 3 off the tee sucks....hitting 5 sucks worse!


I've hit 3 off of the tee plenty and it sucks. One thing that sucks worse is playing 5 out of a drop box, which I have also done too many times on our signature island Par 3. 180 yards of BS that, for some reason, never has a wind coming out of the North or South. There is always a spiteful crosswind ready to F your day up.

post #117 of 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post


Gotta agree. That second shot, whether provisional or not is a real test for most! Hitting 3 off the tee sucks....hitting 5 sucks worse!

 

Interesting, I'm the opposite, mostly I smash the next one down the middle - that really doesn't help my mood - "Why could you do that first time you f*****!"
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Poll: OB/Lost Ball vs. Hazard & Unplayable Lie Penalties