Why doesn't this thread get a big ? The question was about how to employ a breakfast ball. Obviously, its against the rules. If that's the be all and end all for you, what more is there to add? Clearly the OP was trying to open a discussion among those who permit the practice as to how they go about doing so.
I find it frustrating that people can't have a discussion about reasonable deviations from the rules without the thread getting hijacked by the crowd that just goes on and on chanting various forms of "the rules are the rules are the rules are the rules!"
As for the OP's original questions--I typically play a breakfast ball if two conditions are met: (1) I didn't warm up; and (2) its early in the morning. I like to tee off before 6am and don't have the opportunity to hit balls first. I dont automatically hit two, but if my first shot sucked I'll hit another one. My friends suck at golf so when I play with them we play pretty loose with the rules. Breakfast balls plus a mulligan per nine, 1 stroke and drop for OB etc. I don't report those scores.
But since we're there anyway..... here's my 2 cents
This doesn't prohibit a practice ball. It simply says that golf is a game where you hit the ball from the tee into a hole. At best it can be read to prohibit teeing off from someplace other than the teeing ground, using something other than a ball and a club, or not hitting into the hole. It doesn't say when the game begins or ends. It certainly doesn't say anything about practice. And since there is a section on "Practice" it doesn't make sense to look to look anywhere else for some implied prohibition on practice. Talk about grasping for straws...
I'm not sure what relevance this has either. Nobody is playing out of sequence.
7-1. Before Or Between Rounds
a. Match Play
On any day of a match-play competition, a player may practice on the competition course before a round.
b. Stroke Play
Before a round or play-off on any day of a stroke-play competition, a competitor must not practice on the competition course or test the surface of any putting green on the course by rolling a ball or roughening or scraping the surface.
When two or more rounds of a stroke-play competition are to be played over consecutive days, a competitor must not practice between those rounds on any competition course remaining to be played, or test the surface of anyputting green on such course by rolling a ball or roughening or scraping the surface.
This is the one. If you're in a "stroke-play competition" you cannot hit a practice shot. I think some might be assuming that a "competition" is the same as a tournament, and different from a casual round. But I dont think that's right. The rules don't define "competition" and the definition of "competitor" uses the word "competition" so that isn't helpful either. But under "Forms of Stroke Play" the Rules describe an individual game of stroke play as
Individual: A competition in which each competitor plays as an individual.
So I think its clear that a "competition" is any game of stroke play, not just tournaments. So you can't practice on the course on the day of your round.
Someone might argue that you can take the practice stroke and declare that round over and then start a new round. But that doesn't work because you've already practiced on the course that day.
Originally Posted by sacm3bill
Look at it this way: Am I allowed to play a practice round over 18 holes, then come back to the 1st tee and say "Now I'm playing a stipulated round for score"?
No, I dont think you can. I think that violates 7-1(b). I think the rest of your hypos were premised on the answer to this being "yes."