Originally Posted by sacm3bill
Originally Posted by Shorty
Originally Posted by sacm3bill
It seems it would be more appropriate to just declare the first one as practice, no matter how good it is.
I'm not sure that's even against the rules - would it be considered practicing during the round if your round hasn't started yet? I.e., can't you say "I'm not starting the round until after I hit this first practice shot off the tee"? I've looked for an answer to this but can't find one - rulesmasters, what say you?
You can't practise on the course. That is the rule.
Show me that rule please.
You may be thinking of the rule prohibiting practice on the course before a stroke play competition. Not the case here.
You may be thinking of the rule that prohibits practice during a round, but I'm talking about hitting a ball off the first tee before the round starts.
And btw, you most certainly can practice on the course as long as you're not playing a stipulated round. And even then, you're allowed to chip and putt between holes. (That's not relevant here of course, I'm just responding to your incorrect statement.)
The question here is what determines *when* that stipulated round begins.
When you hit your first stroke from the tee, you have started your round. It doesn't matter what you call it. I guess if you play from outside of the teeing ground, then you can call it practice. Kind of hokey to me, but I don't really care as long as you aren't holding up my group as each of you plays 2 balls. Once you play from the teeing ground your round as begun.
Originally Posted by Kletus
Originally Posted by Fourputt
But they are at least trying to play by the rules as best they know them. They aren't making weak excuses to try and justify it to the rest of us.
And it means that he really doesn't have a clue just what his skill level is. Any possible analysis is skewed by the lack of consistency in how each round is played. You measure one time with a 36" yardstick and the next with a 30" yardstick. The results are meaningless without a common standard for a constant. For golf, that standard is the Rules of Golf.
There is no reason to be so condescending. I gave no "weak excuses". I simply stated what we already both know if we are honest... very few rounds of golf are played precisely by the rules. A breakfast ball is simply not going to make much of a difference in the grand scheme of things unless you are competing with someone else and they don't agree to it. Otherwise, it tends to get washed out in the randomness that is a round of golf. We've never played golf together, so we know nothing of each others games. You would probably be surprised to see how strictly I do follow the rules and I imagine we would have a great time playing. My scores are more accurate than most and I would be happy to play by the handicap I've established in any event I were to enter. We are just simply discussing a difference of semantics. You are looking at golf from a strictly by the rules standpoint, which I understand and agree with. I am looking at golf from the standpoint that the golf/time continuum won't be destroyed if a group decides to play a breakfast ball. As long as everyone in the group that is competing against each other plays by the same rules... then I see no issue.
In the last 4 months I've posted a perfectly legit 79 on my home course. I've also posted a perfectly legit 103 that was only that low due to esc. My game has been all over the place due to life issues. A breakfast ball that may or may not get used surely isn't going to affect my handicap as much as that kind of variation. My index was at 14.9 last month. It has moved up to an 18.9 at the moment and is currently trending to a 16.4 thanks to a couple of good rounds that are back in my old range.
The phrase I put in bold is a key to my way of thinking. For me, I don't say "more accurate than most", When I talk about a score or a round, I can say that my scores are accurate, with no qualifications. Maybe one round in 10 I find myself in that quandary of having lost a ball when it should be in plain sight, and the course is too crowded to return to the previous spot. This is very rare for me, as I am quick to play a provisional if there is any possible doubt. When that happens, for handicap purposes I pick up and go by the handicap manual for unfinished holes. If I'm also playing for score against my buddies, I will finish out the hole from there adding 2 penalty strokes. Such scores will never be counted for anything but handicap and the game within my group. I won't bring them up here Even if I ultimately shoot a 70-something, it just doesn't matter, and I don't go about bragging on it.
Like you, I've had some widely varying scores on the same course. In 1989 I shot a 73 while carrying a legitimate 16 handicap (it was the first time I ever broke 80, and it's still my personal best for my home course). It happened during the 3rd round of the club championship and was played completely under the rules ans I do use it a little bit for bragging rights. As a player wh has never carried an index lower than 9.6, I feel that shooting a 73 is a significant accomplishment. In 1991, in the first round of the club championship, carrying a legitimate 10 handicap, I shot a 104. I not ashamed to mention that one either, although not in the same way.
Here is my main gripe with the players who fudge their scores with cheap drops and foot wedges and then make excuses, or worse don't make excuses and still brag about those scores. I once stood on the 18th tee at 1 under par. I hooked my tee shot close to the OB stakes. I played a provisional ball rather poorly, then went up to find that my ball was indeed out of bounds. I wound up making a triple on the hole and didn't even tie that 73. Had I played it as most of the posters on this board feel is acceptable, I'd have just dropped up by where it was OB and played in with a one stroke penalty. Because that position would have actually been better than where my provisional ball was, I'd have probably made a bogey, and shot even par for the only time in my life. However, I'd never have been able to talk about it, because it would never really have happened. I played by the rules, scored a 74, and while that last hole left a bad taste in my mouth, 74 is still pretty good for a 10 handicap.