or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › no contact stroke penalty?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

no contact stroke penalty?

post #1 of 6
Thread Starter 

Hey I was playing with my friend yesterday and we came across an interesting situation. He sliced a ball that eneded up in some tall grass. We went over and the ball was sitting quite high up in the grass, well above his feet. So he took his swing, managed to swing completley under the ball, removing all the tall gras and the ball just dropped right in the same place. He never made contact with the ball. Is this a penalty? We just played it as if it was a pracice swing since we were not playing competiviley or for money or anything like that.

 

Thanks

post #2 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrilla View Post

Hey I was playing with my friend yesterday and we came across an interesting situation. He sliced a ball that eneded up in some tall grass. We went over and the ball was sitting quite high up in the grass, well above his feet. So he took his swing, managed to swing completley under the ball, removing all the tall gras and the ball just dropped right in the same place. He never made contact with the ball. Is this a penalty? We just played it as if it was a pracice swing since we were not playing competiviley or for money or anything like that.

 

Thanks

 

Stroke counts. Rules of Golf define a stroke as a forward movement of the club with the intent of striking the ball.

post #3 of 6
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by geauxforbroke View Post

 

Stroke counts. Rules of Golf define a stroke as a forward movement of the club with the intent of striking the ball.

Thank you sir, looks like he will be switching his dreadful 52 to a 53 haha

post #4 of 6

Yeah, there's no penalty, it's just a stroke.

post #5 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrilla View Post

We just played it as if it was a pracice swing since we were not playing competiviley or for money or anything like that.

 

Thanks

 

A few other comments:

 

1. The amount of money involved doesn't change the Rules of Golf.

2. The penalties incurred by (a)moving the ball and not replacing it and (b)improving the lie both worse (2 strokes) than counting the whiff.

post #6 of 6
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr0sty View Post

 

A few other comments:

 

1. The amount of money involved doesn't change the Rules of Golf.

2. The penalties incurred by (a)moving the ball and not replacing it and (b)improving the lie both worse (2 strokes) than counting the whiff.

I understand the rules don't change. What I was trying to say was since neither of us knew the correct ruling and there was literally nothing on the line so we just let it go. While something like a foot wedge is against the rules, I'm sure you would care a bit more on a match for $100, than if your buddy at the local muni did it when you were just out to have some fun.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › no contact stroke penalty?