or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Putting Out or "Gimme Some Lovin'"
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Putting Out or "Gimme Some Lovin'" - Page 3

post #37 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtleback View Post

 

You DO have a score for handicap purposes.  This would fall under the heading of an unfinished  hole, about which the Handicap Manual has this to say:

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by MS256 View Post

No. As a matter of fact I DON'T have a score for handicap purposes because I don't have a handicap. The only reason I have the <7 listed as a handicap is that I was informed that the site requires an estimate if we don't have a handicap.

No, he doesn't mean to say that you have a handicap.  He was directly responding to your post that sounded like you were under the belief that any round with gimmes in it was not a "postable" round.  He's telling you that that is not correct.  If you kept a handicap, playing a round with a few gimmes here and there doesn't by itself eliminate that score from being for handicap purposes. 

post #38 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfingdad View Post

 

No, he doesn't mean to say that you have a handicap.  He was directly responding to your post that sounded like you were under the belief that any round with gimmes in it was not a "postable" round.  He's telling you that that is not correct.  If you kept a handicap, playing a round with a few gimmes here and there doesn't by itself eliminate that score from being for handicap purposes. 

I never mentioned a "postable round". There's a difference between what you can post for handicap purposes and what your score is by the rules of golf.

 

I play by the rules of whatever money game I'm in but it they play "in the leather" which some do I don't have a "score", except for the purposes of that game, because I didn't play by the rules of golf and there's no telling whether I would have missed a short putt or not (or how many). I've seen a lot of putts in the leather that were certainly no gimme and I'm certainly not going to putt it out with money on the line if everybody else is picking them up.

 

If somebody were to ask what I shot I would tell them I didn't have a score because we played in the leather.

post #39 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by MS256 View Post

No. As a matter of fact I DON'T have a score for handicap purposes because I don't have a handicap. The only reason I have the <7 listed as a handicap is that I was informed that the site requires an estimate if we don't have a handicap.


Then my comment does not apply to you.  But it corrects a mis-impression that people who do post their scores might have gotten from your post.  It's all good.

post #40 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by MS256 View Post

I never mentioned a "postable round". There's a difference between what you can post for handicap purposes and what your score is by the rules of golf.

 

I play by the rules of whatever money game I'm in but it they play "in the leather" which some do I don't have a "score", except for the purposes of that game, because I didn't play by the rules of golf and there's no telling whether I would have missed a short putt or not (or how many). I've seen a lot of putts in the leather that were certainly no gimme and I'm certainly not going to putt it out with money on the line if everybody else is picking them up.

 

If somebody were to ask what I shot I would tell them I didn't have a score because we played in the leather.

You would really say that??? Seems like an awkward way to answer the question.

 

You wouldn't say, for example, I shot a 76 but we weren't putting out? You must have to do a lot of explaining on those days.

post #41 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest Jones View Post

You would really say that??? Seems like an awkward way to answer the question.

 

You wouldn't say, for example, I shot a 76 but we weren't putting out? You must have to do a lot of explaining on those days.

1. "Didn't keep score" is good enough...If anybody asked...Which they don't.

 

2. I really can't even remember the last time (if ever) a person asked me what score I shot after one of those "in the leather" games. My wife always asks how I played and I either say "Good", "Like crap",  "I won" or "I lost".

 

To ask what I shot a person would have to know I played in one of those games, not know that we didn't play by the rules in that game, and care enough to ask. Those three things evidently never come together.

 

P.S. I also can't remember the last time I asked somebody what they shot (probably never), or at least long enough ago that I didn't yet know that their answer probably doesn't mean squat.

 

I just remembered the last time a person asked me what I shot in a round. He was a non-golfer that I worked with. When I made the mistake of giving him my answer (in an actual round) I had to spend the next 5 minutes explaining to him that the scores we shoot don't relate in any way to the scores the pros shoot, and it's like the difference between hitting a home run in a Little League game and a Major League game.


Edited by MS256 - 7/4/13 at 7:54am
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Putting Out or "Gimme Some Lovin'"