or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ruling on lateral hazard/provisional...
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Ruling on lateral hazard/provisional... - Page 2

post #19 of 32
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post


If a provisional was permitted then when you find the original in bounds, the provisional is dead.
If you don't wish to plasy the original where it is then you may go back and play another ball under stroke and distance.

But MEfree was referring to a situation where a provisional was not permitted. So that when the second ball (supposedly 'provisional') was played it became the ball in play and the original was lost under the definition of lost ball (even though it was found).

 

Ok I think I got it. I played it legally then.

post #20 of 32

you really have four options: re-hit from the previous spot, play from within two club lengths of where it went in no closer the hole, play as far back as you like keeping the entry point between you and the hole, and play from a spot on the opposite side of the hazard equidistant to the hole. If you play from the opposite side be ready for some grief from your playing partners since few golfers know know or understand this option.

post #21 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by VOX View Post

you really have four options: re-hit from the previous spot, play from within two club lengths of where it went in no closer the hole, play as far back as you like keeping the entry point between you and the hole, and play from a spot on the opposite side of the hazard equidistant to the hole. If you play from the opposite side be ready for some grief from your playing partners since few golfers know know or understand this option.

Pretty good ... you got four of the five. The last being to play the ball from within the hazard.

 

Yellow stakes = three options.

Red stakes = five options.

post #22 of 32
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post

Pretty good ... you got four of the five. The last being to play the ball from within the hazard.

 

Yellow stakes = three options.

Red stakes = five options.

 

What about yellow AND red? That was the case here...

 

I was gonna try to play it from the hazard, but there was an obstruction, so I wouldn't have been able to do much, and it wasn't worth hitting the "hero" shot. I dropped and made bogey, ended up being the smart play...

post #23 of 32

I ran into this situation last week and will be playing the same course again this week in competition. On a links style course, my tee shot entered an area of tall fescue. I hit a provisional, just in case I could not find it. Once I got to the area of fescue, it has bordered by red stakes that were not visible from the tee box. I abandoned my provisional because it was hit not knowing that this was a hazard. Was this correct? Or was I obligated to play my second ball beacause in the case that the ball was hit into a hazard I was not entitled to a provisional? This is an important question for me, because during the competition it mat affect what I do if a competitor hits into this area and wants to hit a "provisional"

post #24 of 32
Agreed. I meant four options when taking relief.
post #25 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slice of Life View Post

 

What about yellow AND red? That was the case here...

 

I was gonna try to play it from the hazard, but there was an obstruction, so I wouldn't have been able to do much, and it wasn't worth hitting the "hero" shot. I dropped and made bogey, ended up being the smart play...


It's good you did not play from the hazard. If it was a special zone of some sort it would be against the rules anyway. Better to get in the habit of following them.

post #26 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lihu View Post


It's good you did not play from the hazard. If it was a special zone of some sort it would be against the rules anyway. Better to get in the habit of following them.

@Slice. Ignore this bogus advice.

post #27 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by reedf View Post

I ran into this situation last week and will be playing the same course again this week in competition. On a links style course, my tee shot entered an area of tall fescue. I hit a provisional, just in case I could not find it. Once I got to the area of fescue, it has bordered by red stakes that were not visible from the tee box. I abandoned my provisional because it was hit not knowing that this was a hazard. Was this correct? Or was I obligated to play my second ball beacause in the case that the ball was hit into a hazard I was not entitled to a provisional? This is an important question for me, because during the competition it mat affect what I do if a competitor hits into this area and wants to hit a "provisional"

You were within your rights to play a provisional. Rule 27-2 gives you that. (However, since you now know it's marked as a water hazard, the next time you hit a similar shot should not play a provisional ball.)

27-2. Provisional Ball

a. Procedure - If a ball may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds, to save time the player may play another ball provisionally .... 

post #28 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post

@Slice. Ignore this bogus advice.

 

Uh oh, you're right.

I misinterpreted something I heard earlier.

 

 

I just watched a video discussing these issues:

post #29 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slice of Life View Post

What about yellow AND red? That was the case here...
Not sure what you mean. Do you mean individual stakes were red and yellow or one part of the hazard was marked with red stakes and the other with yellow stakes.

If the latter, the colour of the stakes where your ball last crossed the margin of the hazard determines which options you have.

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-26/#26-1
post #30 of 32
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post


Not sure what you mean. Do you mean individual stakes were red and yellow or one part of the hazard was marked with red stakes and the other with yellow stakes.

If the latter, the colour of the stakes where your ball last crossed the margin of the hazard determines which options you have.

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-26/#26-1

 

I mean, there were yellow and red stakes right next to each other...almost touching. Should have taken a picture...

post #31 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slice of Life View Post

 

I mean, there were yellow and red stakes right next to each other...almost touching. Should have taken a picture...

That's as it should be. A yellow stake right next to a red stake will tell you where the hazard changes from being a water hazard to a lateral water hazard.

post #32 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slice of Life View Post

 

I mean, there were yellow and red stakes right next to each other...almost touching. Should have taken a picture...

That's as it should be. A yellow stake right next to a red stake will tell you where the hazard changes from being a water hazard to a lateral water hazard.

 

Yep.  On the side with the yellow stake it's a regular water hazard, and on the side with the red stake it changes to a lateral water hazard.  It's quite common.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ruling on lateral hazard/provisional...