Opponent refused to putt in tournament play.
TheSandTrap.com Top Picks
I don't see a penalty in your case. In stroke play, there are very few instances where playing out of turn actually leads to a penalty. You used the term "opponent". I'm curious, was this Match Play?
Edit: If Match Play
Technically speaking, you "broke" the rule in Match Play. When you played out of turn, you "agreed" to playing out of turn. As the penalty statement in match play is for the opponent to recall the stroke, in your case this would not applicable because it was your opponent's idea..
If you had made a valid, timely claim, (Rule 2-5) it would be different.
Edited by Dormie1360 - 7/19/13 at 9:21am
I'm not sure of that. In Mario golf for the N64, if you are off the green and the other player is on the green, the person off the green is always away. I've learned a lot of the rules of golf from that game.
Nvm, I googled it and I was wrong.
After research, she should have putted first *technically*.
It's ouch because in match play if you play out of order your opponent can make you cancel your play and replay it.
Thank you Rulesman. She wasn't my "opponent" as that would be match play and this wasn't. I guess she was my "competitor"? I guess I could have held my ground and made her putt, held up the rest of the field and waited for a ruling. But hey "while we're young!" 😉Thanks for all the replies from everyone. Still learning the game.
You made the right move. Let her be a brat, but why hold it up when it doesn't really make a difference.