or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Forum Profile Handicap Indices....
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Forum Profile Handicap Indices.... - Page 18

post #307 of 634
I keep my handicap current and play out every shot, when possible and record the actual score I made, no gimmies either. I then turn in that score for my GHIN handicap.
The ladies I used to play with just give themselves a double bogie at most and move on. Then they post that score for their GHIN handicap. So many of them believe they shoot in the 80's or low 90's ( is this what is meant by a vanity handicap?).
So we had our club championship, (its my first year as I'm new to the area) and honestly none of the women in that particular playing group posted a score under a 100. One woman was visibly upset, crying and everything that she didn't shoot in the 80's. She shot 100 and 110. I understand nerves come into play...but really?
So I know, get to the point. The point is, if you never write down that triple, quad, etc. on your scorecard, you might freak out seeing that high number in competition and never recover from it, and play horribly for the rest of the round. Plus, if your'e playing for a net score win, you can forget that too! I'm done😏!
post #308 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by barbm12thtee View Post

I keep my handicap current and play out every shot, when possible and record the actual score I made, no gimmies either. I then turn in that score for my GHIN handicap.
The ladies I used to play with just give themselves a double bogie at most and move on. Then they post that score for their GHIN handicap. So many of them believe they shoot in the 80's or low 90's ( is this what is meant by a vanity handicap?).
So we had our club championship, (its my first year as I'm new to the area) and honestly none of the women in that particular playing group posted a score under a 100. One woman was visibly upset, crying and everything that she didn't shoot in the 80's. She shot 100 and 110. I understand nerves come into play...but really?
So I know, get to the point. The point is, if you never write down that triple, quad, etc. on your scorecard, you might freak out seeing that high number in competition and never recover from it, and play horribly for the rest of the round. Plus, if your'e playing for a net score win, you can forget that too! I'm done😏!

Right on Barb! And yes, that is what you would call vanity capping. 

post #309 of 634

I've got a handicap question.

 

I played a round last week after work, and ran out of time. It got dark and I had to quit after 16 holes.

 

What would you do in this case? Do I take ESC for the last two, or just not count that round at all?

post #310 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lash View Post

I've got a handicap question.

 

I played a round last week after work, and ran out of time. It got dark and I had to quit after 16 holes.

 

What would you do in this case? Do I take ESC for the last two, or just not count that round at all?

Neither ... you put down par + handicap strokes for those last two holes and post it.

post #311 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lash View Post

I've got a handicap question.

 

I played a round last week after work, and ran out of time. It got dark and I had to quit after 16 holes.

 

What would you do in this case? Do I take ESC for the last two, or just not count that round at all?

 

From the USGA website:

 

Holes Not Played/Not Played Under The Rules of Golf

Q. How do I post a score if a hole is not played or not played under the principles of The Rules of Golf?"

A. For handicap purposes, the player must record a score of par plus any handicap strokes normally received for the holes not played or holes not played in accordance with The Rules of Golf. These scores should have an “X” preceding the number. For example, player A is not able to play holes 16, 17, and 18 due to darkness. Player A has a Course Handicap™ of 12 and holes 16, 17, 18 are a par 5, 3, 4, and are allocated as the number 4, 16, 10 handicap holes, respectively. Therefore, player A will record an x-6, x-3, x-5 on holes 16, 17, and 18, respectively.

Please visit Section 4-2 of the USGA Handicap System manual for further reference.

post #312 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lash View Post

I've got a handicap question.

I played a round last week after work, and ran out of time. It got dark and I had to quit after 16 holes.

What would you do in this case? Do I take ESC for the last two, or just not count that round at all?
I don't report unfinished rounds just because it wasn't established what I would have shot on those unplayed holes. I do turn in the nine holes I play in League Play cause I know I will turn in another nine the following week and its not my home course.. You could just record the nine holes you completed.
post #313 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Swede View Post

From the USGA website:
Holes Not Played/Not Played Under The Rules of Golf
Q. How do I post a score if a hole is not played or not played under the principles of The Rules of Golf?"
A. For handicap purposes, the player must record a score of par plus any handicap strokes normally received for the holes not played or holes not played in accordance with The Rules of Golf. These scores should have an “X” preceding the number. For example, player A is not able to play holes 16, 17, and 18 due to darkness. Player A has a Course Handicap™ of 12 and holes 16, 17, 18 are a par 5, 3, 4, and are allocated as the number 4, 16, 10 handicap holes, respectively. Therefore, player A will record an x-6, x-3, x-5 on holes 16, 17, and 18, respectively.
Please visit Section 4-2 of the USGA Handicap System manual for further reference.
I never knew this...thanks for the information. I will copy this!
post #314 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lash View Post

I've got a handicap question.

 

I played a round last week after work, and ran out of time. It got dark and I had to quit after 16 holes.

 

What would you do in this case? Do I take ESC for the last two, or just not count that round at all?

 

You would mark par plus any handicap strokes you were entitled to on those unplayed holes.  Using ESC would be sandbagging.  If your handicap is accurate, you would get par plus at least one stroke for any hole on the course.  Depending on what your index converts to for course handicap, you would probably be entitled to par plus 2 strokes on more than half of the holes on most courses.  

 

For example: If your course handicap is 34, you get one stroke on handicap holes 17-18, and 2 strokes on handicap holes 1-16.    You would look at the card for the handicap number of the holes (that won't match the actual hole number except by accident) you didn't finish, and see what strokes that entitles you to.  

 

On my home course the 17th is par 3, handicap18, and the 18th is par 4, handicap 6, so you would mark a 4 for 17 and a 6 for 18.

post #315 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by barbm12thtee View Post


I don't report unfinished rounds just because it wasn't established what I would have shot on those unplayed holes. I do turn in the nine holes I play in League Play cause I know I will turn in another nine the following week and its not my home course.. You could just record the nine holes you completed.

 

If you play over 7 holes, you turn in a 9 hole score.  If you play over 13 holes, you turn in an 18 holes score.  (So 7-12 holes get turned in for 9 hole score, 13-18 as 18 hole score.)

post #316 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Swede View Post

If you play over 7 holes, you turn in a 9 hole score.  If you play over 13 holes, you turn in an 18 holes score.  (So 7-12 holes get turned in for 9 hole score, 13-18 as 18 hole score.)
Thank you for clarifying. Who knew? (Obviously not me!)
post #317 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Swede View Post

 

From the USGA website:

 

Holes Not Played/Not Played Under The Rules of Golf

Q. How do I post a score if a hole is not played or not played under the principles of The Rules of Golf?"

A. For handicap purposes, the player must record a score of par plus any handicap strokes normally received for the holes not played or holes not played in accordance with The Rules of Golf. These scores should have an “X” preceding the number. For example, player A is not able to play holes 16, 17, and 18 due to darkness. Player A has a Course Handicap™ of 12 and holes 16, 17, 18 are a par 5, 3, 4, and are allocated as the number 4, 16, 10 handicap holes, respectively. Therefore, player A will record an x-6, x-3, x-5 on holes 16, 17, and 18, respectively.

Please visit Section 4-2 of the USGA Handicap System manual for further reference.

Thanks, I thought it was something like that. 

 

My handicap entering this round was 32.7 and the holes were ranked 8 & 4. Since the slope of this course was 121 I believe I would play it with a handicap of 35. This means I would get 2 strokes on the first 17 holes, and just one stroke on the 18th? So these holes are 8 & 4, and I would get 2 strokes on each. So I would actually add two to each of these, so my handicap scores would be 6 for each(both are par 4).

 

Am I understanding all of this correctly? I've never used my handicap before, so this is actually the first time I am learning how.

post #318 of 634

My official handicap is 13.2 and is calculated by the state golf association I belong to.  I turn in every score, don't compete in any tournaments, and merely use it as a guide to how I'm doing at the game.  Since I started keeping score for an official handicap several years ago I've been as low as 12.8 and as high as 14+.  I had hoped someday to get that to single digit but I'm not getting any younger and I doubt that will happen.  The last two years it merely fluctuates between the high 12s and mid 13s.  

post #319 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lash View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Swede View Post

 

From the USGA website:

 

Holes Not Played/Not Played Under The Rules of Golf

Q. How do I post a score if a hole is not played or not played under the principles of The Rules of Golf?"

A. For handicap purposes, the player must record a score of par plus any handicap strokes normally received for the holes not played or holes not played in accordance with The Rules of Golf. These scores should have an “X” preceding the number. For example, player A is not able to play holes 16, 17, and 18 due to darkness. Player A has a Course Handicap™ of 12 and holes 16, 17, 18 are a par 5, 3, 4, and are allocated as the number 4, 16, 10 handicap holes, respectively. Therefore, player A will record an x-6, x-3, x-5 on holes 16, 17, and 18, respectively.

Please visit Section 4-2 of the USGA Handicap System manual for further reference.

Thanks, I thought it was something like that. 

 

My handicap entering this round was 32.7 and the holes were ranked 8 & 4. Since the slope of this course was 121 I believe I would play it with a handicap of 35. This means I would get 2 strokes on the first 17 holes, and just one stroke on the 18th? So these holes are 8 & 4, and I would get 2 strokes on each. So I would actually add two to each of these, so my handicap scores would be 6 for each(both are par 4).

 

Am I understanding all of this correctly? I've never used my handicap before, so this is actually the first time I am learning how.

 

Yes, that sounds right.  You would score a double bogey for each of those unplayed holes.

post #320 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

Yes, that sounds right.  You would score a double bogey for each of those unplayed holes.

Cool, glad I learned something today. Thanks for your help. c2_beer.gif

post #321 of 634
Thread Starter 

Revision day.....

 

Not pretty.  Up to 5.8 as a few of my better scores dropped off.....   b4_blushing.gif

 

The good news is that I should get a stroke or two from my buddy for the next 15 days.   a3_biggrin.gif

post #322 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Swede View Post

 

From the USGA website:

 

Holes Not Played/Not Played Under The Rules of Golf

Q. How do I post a score if a hole is not played or not played under the principles of The Rules of Golf?"

A. For handicap purposes, the player must record a score of par plus any handicap strokes normally received for the holes not played or holes not played in accordance with The Rules of Golf. These scores should have an “X” preceding the number. For example, player A is not able to play holes 16, 17, and 18 due to darkness. Player A has a Course Handicap™ of 12 and holes 16, 17, 18 are a par 5, 3, 4, and are allocated as the number 4, 16, 10 handicap holes, respectively. Therefore, player A will record an x-6, x-3, x-5 on holes 16, 17, and 18, respectively.

Please visit Section 4-2 of the USGA Handicap System manual for further reference.

 

I totally thought this was where you turned in a 'most likely score'.  Is anyone familiar with what I'm talking about and can clarify the difference?

post #323 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meltdwhiskey View Post

 

I totally thought this was where you turned in a 'most likely score'.  Is anyone familiar with what I'm talking about and can clarify the difference?

I did some reading the other day. I think "most likely score" is when you started a hole and couldn't finish. When you don't start a hole at all, you add your handicap as listed earlier.

post #324 of 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meltdwhiskey View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Swede View Post

 

From the USGA website:

 

Holes Not Played/Not Played Under The Rules of Golf

Q. How do I post a score if a hole is not played or not played under the principles of The Rules of Golf?"

A. For handicap purposes, the player must record a score of par plus any handicap strokes normally received for the holes not played or holes not played in accordance with The Rules of Golf. These scores should have an “X” preceding the number. For example, player A is not able to play holes 16, 17, and 18 due to darkness. Player A has a Course Handicap™ of 12 and holes 16, 17, 18 are a par 5, 3, 4, and are allocated as the number 4, 16, 10 handicap holes, respectively. Therefore, player A will record an x-6, x-3, x-5 on holes 16, 17, and 18, respectively.

Please visit Section 4-2 of the USGA Handicap System manual for further reference.

 

I totally thought this was where you turned in a 'most likely score'.  Is anyone familiar with what I'm talking about and can clarify the difference?

 

The USGA says that the most likely score is only if you have not only started play of the hole, but have progressed to a point where a projection is reasonable.  It is primarily aimed at providing a score for handicap when playing a match and a stroke  or hole is conceded after both players are on or near the green.  If you hit OB off the tee, find your ball after your 3rd stroke in the trees with a pitchout to the fairway as your only play, then you concede the hole to your opponent and pick up, the rule requires that you post par plus.  I realize that it doesn't sound fair when you would most likely have reached your ESC, but it is done that way to avoid the potential for sandbagging.  

 

I thought the other way too until I saw it direct from the USGA.  It's simply an anti-sandbagging measure.  It's also thought that such a case shouldn't occur often enough to be a major factor in your handicap.  

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Forum Profile Handicap Indices....