or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Original ball, provision ball... R&A Rule 27-2c?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Original ball, provision ball... R&A Rule 27-2c?

post #1 of 10
Thread Starter 

Here's my dilemma, a few times I've drove a ball off the tee box (Or hit from the fairway/rough, but will use the tee shot as an example), and was unsure where it landed further up the hole, so, I've then played a provisional ball (Or, on the odd occasion have walked back to the teebox/fairway/rough to rehit another ball after the original one had been lost)

 

Now, I've been told by some that if I look for my original ball, and cannot find it, then call "I'll play my provisional", then afterwards, someone stumbles upon it before I take the next shot, I have to abandon the original ball, take the penalty and carry on (So, the provisional is now the ball in play) because I've called it

 

But then, I've been told from others that if I say "I'll play my provisional", and someone finds it before I take the next shot, well, my ball isnt lost any more, and thus, have to abandon my provisional and play my original ball as I find it (No penalty) 

 

Whats the actual procedure for such a setup?

 

Thanks in advance :)

 

Dabz

 

*Damn... Spelling mistake in the title... D'oh!!! :D

post #2 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabzy View Post

Here's my dilemma, a few times I've drove a ball off the tee box (Or hit from the fairway/rough, but will use the tee shot as an example), and was unsure where it landed further up the hole, so, I've then played a provisional ball (Or, on the odd occasion have walked back to the teebox/fairway/rough to rehit another ball after the original one had been lost)

 

Now, I've been told by some that if I look for my original ball, and cannot find it, then call "I'll play my provisional", then afterwards, someone stumbles upon it before I take the next shot, I have to abandon the original ball, take the penalty and carry on (So, the provisional is now the ball in play) because I've called it

 

But then, I've been told from others that if I say "I'll play my provisional", and someone finds it before I take the next shot, well, my ball isnt lost any more, and thus, have to abandon my provisional and play my original ball as I find it (No penalty) 

 

Whats the actual procedure for such a setup?

 

Thanks in advance :)

 

Dabz

 

*Damn... Spelling mistake in the title... D'oh!!! :D

 

The provisional ball only becomes the ball in play if one of the following occurs: 

 

1)  The allowed 5 minute search expires

 

2)  You play a stroke with the provisional ball from a point at or closer to the hole than the spot where the original ball is thought to be.  

 

A simple statement of intent is not sufficient to make it the ball in play.

post #3 of 10
Thread Starter 

Thank you fourputt, really appreciate you answering that for me, its been doing my noggin in for a few weeks now as I simply had no clue what the hell to do in the situation! ;)

 

Your a good'un! ;)

 

Dabz 

post #4 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabzy View Post

Thank you fourputt, really appreciate you answering that for me, its been doing my noggin in for a few weeks now as I simply had no clue what the hell to do in the situation! ;)

 

Your a good'un! ;)

 

Dabz 

 

There is actually a third condition, but I was answering your specific question about a lost ball.  If your original ball is found out of bounds, that would also put the provisional ball into play.

post #5 of 10
Thread Starter 

Yeah, I've never argued against that one, once it's gone beyond the white markers... Its game over for that little fella! :)

 

Dabz

post #6 of 10

Hi Dabzy,

 

Just make sure you announce your intention of playing a provisional ball off the tee. If you forget, the ball played becomes the ball in play.

post #7 of 10
Thread Starter 

Will do Johanna... Thanks for that! ;)

 

Dabz

post #8 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johanna View Post

Hi Dabzy,

 

Just make sure you announce your intention of playing a provisional ball off the tee. If you forget, the ball played becomes the ball in play.

I have never been one to want to have to call a penalty on someone.  I don't know how many times I have seen someone reach in their pocket or get another ball out of their bag and not say a word.  When that happens, I will always ask them "Are you going to play a provisional ball?"  If they say yes, I tell them to announce it. 

post #9 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickK View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johanna View Post

Hi Dabzy,

 

Just make sure you announce your intention of playing a provisional ball off the tee. If you forget, the ball played becomes the ball in play.

I have never been one to want to have to call a penalty on someone.  I don't know how many times I have seen someone reach in their pocket or get another ball out of their bag and not say a word.  When that happens, I will always ask them "Are you going to play a provisional ball?"  If they say yes, I tell them to announce it. 

 

This would be me too.  I don't let them make the stroke, then ask.

post #10 of 10

Hi Dabzy and Fourputt,

 

That's the way to play golf! In fact we tell starters to either ask if it is a Provisional Ball or advise players to play a P.B. if the tee shot goes wayward.

 

Referees will do the same.

 

Regards, Johanna

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Original ball, provision ball... R&A Rule 27-2c?