or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › snedeker's ball moved on hole 12
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

snedeker's ball moved on hole 12 - Page 3

post #37 of 69

I didn't see Sned's ball move, but certainly thought there was a chance of that happening which is why I started this thread yesterday http://thesandtrap.com/t/68816/unplayable-lie-drop-loose-impediment-questions#post_874679

 

Couple of questions-

 

1.  Had Sneds returned to his ball after looking for Lingmerths and noticed that it had moved (i.e. a different part of the ball was facing upwards) but was uncertain as to who caused it to move, what should he have done?  

 

2.  Causing a your ball to move while looking for it is NOT a penalty, correct?  What about causing your ball to move while looking for another player's ball?

post #38 of 69

yawn
 

post #39 of 69

So why didnt you call?

post #40 of 69

I recall seeing him hold the plant out of the way (by moving it some), but thought it more or less returned to its original position when he let go.  It never appeared that he actually damaged the plant.

 

I definitely thought it was a risky move trying to move the log (or even walk about the area where his ball lay) which is why I started this thread yesterday http://thesandtrap.com/t/68816/unplayable-lie-drop-loose-impediment-questions#post_874679

post #41 of 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyg View Post

While removing the log behind his ball, Snedeker was bending a small plant out of the way. He held on to it while picking up some loose impediments near his ball and never allowed the plant to return to its original position. That plant would have interfered with his swing. I called a friend who is on the USGA rules committee and he watched it several times and agreed with me. We were sure that the rules mavens were already calling the PGA. I guess not.

 

You must really hate Snedeker to open a profile just to post that. 

post #42 of 69

This topic is being discussed in at least 2 other threads, doesn't appear you have anything new to add to what's already been posted. 

post #43 of 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEfree View Post

2.  Causing a your ball to move while looking for it is NOT a penalty, correct?  What about causing your ball to move while looking for another player's ball?

 

Wrong. If you cause your ball to move while searching your or someone else's ball, it is a penalty.

post #44 of 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyg View Post

While removing the log behind his ball, Snedeker was bending a small plant out of the way. He held on to it while picking up some loose impediments near his ball and never allowed the plant to return to its original position. That plant would have interfered with his swing. I called a friend who is on the USGA rules committee and he watched it several times and agreed with me. We were sure that the rules mavens were already calling the PGA. I guess not.

I saw that, too. I believe that the plant was gently bent away, the loose impediment removed and the plant allowed to return to the way nature put her in the first place.

post #45 of 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post

I saw that, too. I believe that the plant was gently bent away, the loose impediment removed and the plant allowed to return to the way nature put her in the first place.

That's how I saw that as well....
post #46 of 69
Thread Starter 

Nice call bobbyg. Just reviewed the tape.  If you noticed he pinned that plant to the dirt so it wouldn't return to it's original position.  I started out being incensed about the branch vibrating and moving the ball (via another little plant that was moved by the branch) and wind up seeing this clear violation.  After review of the tape it had to be Snedeker who kicked the branch after knowing the placement of the ball as he had done a mock address of the ball a few seconds before that.  Bottom line---Snedeker got away with one--a big one.  If Dustin Johnson is up by 2 strokes he plays 17 completely different.

post #47 of 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by toroboy View Post

Nice call bobbyg. Just reviewed the tape.  If you noticed he pinned that plant to the dirt so it wouldn't return to it's original position.  I started out being incensed about the branch vibrating and moving the ball (via another little plant that was moved by the branch) and wind up seeing this clear violation.  After review of the tape it had to be Snedeker who kicked the branch after knowing the placement of the ball as he had done a mock address of the ball a few seconds before that.  Bottom line---Snedeker got away with one--a big one.  If Dustin Johnson is up by 2 strokes he plays 17 completely different.

 

I'm curious, did someone named Snedeker beat you up and take your lunch money as a kid?

 

That's the only explanation I can think of for your rather unique outrage over something that virtually no one else in the entire golf community perceives.

post #48 of 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

 

I'm curious, did someone named Snedeker beat you up and take your lunch money as a kid?

 

That's the only explanation I can think of for your rather unique outrage over something that virtually no one else in the entire golf community perceives.

He'll go away ... trolls always wear out their welcome, usually pretty soon. e2_whistling.gif

post #49 of 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by toroboy View Post

Nice call bobbyg. Just reviewed the tape.  If you noticed he pinned that plant to the dirt so it wouldn't return to it's original position.  I started out being incensed about the branch vibrating and moving the ball (via another little plant that was moved by the branch) and wind up seeing this clear violation.  After review of the tape it had to be Snedeker who kicked the branch after knowing the placement of the ball as he had done a mock address of the ball a few seconds before that.  Bottom line---Snedeker got away with one--a big one.  If Dustin Johnson is up by 2 strokes he plays 17 completely different.

 

Give it up dude.  Your peculiar world view isn't shared by anyone else here.  Come on back when you have something useful to contribute, or have some evidence to support your accusations.  Right now you are coming across as nothing but a troll, and your time here will be very brief once the administrators arrive at that same conclusion.

post #50 of 69
Thread Starter 

You obviously don't have the tape.  Consensus nonsensus.  Thought Nazis. I just go where the evidence leads, sorry.  Don't be surprised when your hero-worship turns sour.  I shouldn't post because I don't agree?  My view is not shared?  Threaten me with administration?  All I did was view a broadcast and form a heretical conclusion.  If I wanted socialism I would watch soccer.  Golf was the last bastion of individual freedom and adherence to an honorable code--and the rules are there to enforce the code.  This is my last post sorry to ruin your club.

post #51 of 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by luu5 View Post

 

Wrong. If you cause your ball to move while searching your or someone else's ball, it is a penalty.

Thanks...so it is an advantage to have someone else (other than your caddy or partner) look for your ball when it is in long grass and there is a chance of stepping it.  i.e. in a pro tournament when the gallery helps to find a players ball, there is no penalty if one of them steps on it while looking even if there is a good chance that it would have remained lost otherwise.

post #52 of 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by toroboy View Post

You obviously don't have the tape.  Consensus nonsensus.  Thought Nazis. I just go where the evidence leads, sorry.  Don't be surprised when your hero-worship turns sour.  I shouldn't post because I don't agree?  My view is not shared?  Threaten me with administration?  All I did was view a broadcast and form a heretical conclusion.  If I wanted socialism I would watch soccer.  Golf was the last bastion of individual freedom and adherence to an honorable code--and the rules are there to enforce the code.  This is my last post sorry to ruin your club.

 

And a drama queen to boot.  Sorry but nobody has yet presented any evidence whatsoever.  Hearsay is not evidence, and that's all you have shown us.

post #53 of 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by toroboy View Post

Thought Nazis.

 

And… restricted from the thread. His own thread, to boot.

post #54 of 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by toroboy View Post

Thought Nazis.

 

And… restricted from the thread. His own thread, to boot.

 

That was fun while it lasted. K bye!

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › snedeker's ball moved on hole 12