or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Match Play Lost Ball?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Match Play Lost Ball? - Page 2

Poll Results: You are 2 up on the 11th tee where both you and your opponent hit similar shots down the right side of the fairway. You have already received 1 warning from the ranger to speed up your pace of play. You find your ball on the fairway, but your opponent can't find his. He asks if you will allow him to drop a ball next to yours laying 3/hitting 4. Do you allow him to do it?

 
  • 96% (25)
    No way- he is walking back to the tee or conceding the hole to me.
  • 3% (1)
    Yes
  • 0% (0)
    It depends
26 Total Votes  
post #19 of 25
@ Me Free
In match play it makes perfect sense to me if both people agree to modify the rules to speed up play. Is it allowable in all the scenarios you mentioned? I guess if it is, couldn't you technically just could go to the green and have a putting contest. Jeesh?????
post #20 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEfree View Post

 

In match play, when only two players are involved, I am more inclined to allow them to determine the rules they play by so long as one competitor doesn't bully, manipulate, shame, etc the other guy into playing by his set of rules.  If two MATCH PLAY opponents happily agree to a modification for the sake of expediency, I have no issues with it.  i.e. Playing as a twosome with no caddies, both are on the green 90-100 feet from the hole...A says to B, let's just leave the flag in and not call a penalty if one of us hits it.  B says good idea.  They complete the hole having waived this rule...I don't see why they should both be disqualified if they happened to mention this to someone in the bar after the match who reports it to the committee.

.

If you can't see the difference then we don't even have common ground for discussion.  This is totally different from your return to the tee scenario for a lost ball.  This isn't really a pace of play issue, it's a laziness issue, and that ain't gonna fly with me.  

post #21 of 25
Why don't you just start a new game called *meefree's version of a game resembling golf?*

You obviously struggle with the rules and think you have a better way of playing the game.
post #22 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

If is was an informal match during a casual round, I might be flexible.  If it's a club match, then no way.  That would subject both of us to disqualification. 

+1
post #23 of 25

Not a chance that I'm assuming he would have hit the next shot any better than the first. He's conceding the hole or going back to the tee.

post #24 of 25

MEfree,

 

I understand the pace of play argument, particularly given the fact that it's only affecting the two match play competitors. But leaving the outcome of that hole aside for the moment, wouldn't you be subjecting yourself to an unneccessary risk by agreeing to that offer?

 

Let's say you do let your opponent drop next to you, and you win the hole anyway. Now you're three up with 6 to play. You rattle off two birdies on holes 13 and 14 to promptly close out the match, and all is well, right? But what if your competitor - unbeknownst to you - is pissed off at you? Despite your generous agreement on 12, perhaps he's upset because A. He thinks you weren't conceding enough short putts to him that day or B. He thinks you're a sandbagger or C. He doesn't like the color of the shirt that you are wearing, etc, etc. etc.

 

With nothing to lose, he reports the infraction on 12 to the competition committee, and all of a sudden your hard earned victory is gone and you are DQ'ed. Does the pace of play argument hold as much water now?

 

In that similar scenario, I would ask my opponent to concede or re-tee. If he re-teed, I would ask if he was ok with letting the group on the tee behind us play through. While he makes the walk back to the tee, box, I would wave the group behind us up. If he wasn't ok with waving the group behind through, then he's the one that's going to have to face them shortly anyway.....

post #25 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

MEfree,

 

I understand the pace of play argument, particularly given the fact that it's only affecting the two match play competitors. But leaving the outcome of that hole aside for the moment, wouldn't you be subjecting yourself to an unneccessary risk by agreeing to that offer?

 

Let's say you do let your opponent drop next to you, and you win the hole anyway. Now you're three up with 6 to play. You rattle off two birdies on holes 13 and 14 to promptly close out the match, and all is well, right? But what if your competitor - unbeknownst to you - is pissed off at you? Despite your generous agreement on 12, perhaps he's upset because A. He thinks you weren't conceding enough short putts to him that day or B. He thinks you're a sandbagger or C. He doesn't like the color of the shirt that you are wearing, etc, etc. etc.

 

With nothing to lose, he reports the infraction on 12 to the competition committee, and all of a sudden your hard earned victory is gone and you are DQ'ed. Does the pace of play argument hold as much water now?

 

In that similar scenario, I would ask my opponent to concede or re-tee. If he re-teed, I would ask if he was ok with letting the group on the tee behind us play through. While he makes the walk back to the tee, box, I would wave the group behind us up. If he wasn't ok with waving the group behind through, then he's the one that's going to have to face them shortly anyway.....

 

Interesting thought.  A bad loser could really muck it for you if you gave him such an easy opportunity.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Match Play Lost Ball?