or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Placing my ball on a fairway pitch mark to tee up ball. Wrong or right?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Placing my ball on a fairway pitch mark to tee up ball. Wrong or right? - Page 3

post #37 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by thescarecrow View Post

I
Myself,  being the marker, I am not verbally recommending anything..........It is a self recommendation. , With a club in my hand, will I or won't I..........No body is around and I landed next to a one inch tee. I will put the ball on the tee and use my driver...............Marker looking from one hundred yards thinks, what he up to?   Gee you might be lucky, maybe too lucky............................long run not worth it..........

This is a rules forum. What may you do.....what may you not do. That's all.

In the scenario specified, you may place the ball on a discarded tee, a pitch mark, or loose impediment if you so choose. If you choose not to, that's perfectly alright too.
post #38 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by thescarecrow View Post

Look I will spell it out...............The marker would assume you are CHEATING ......I have had played many  rounds with markers that I do not know, if we were playing the first hole and he saw my ball on a tee........Well?      What would you think?   Do you understand where I am coming from.?  That is why I am saying Not recommended.         Perception.

 

As you know, it doesn't matter what the marker thinks. His job is to write numbers on the scorecard. If he doesn't like the numbers he's given to write down, he has a duty, in the scoring area, to bring to the attention of the scorer what he thinks the numbers should be. The Committee will rule.

post #39 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post

 

As you know, it doesn't matter what the marker thinks. His job is to write numbers on the scorecard. If he doesn't like the numbers he's given to write down, he has a duty, in the scoring area, to bring to the attention of the scorer what he thinks the numbers should be. The Committee will rule.

I understand with what you are saying and I do not disagree, however, we have over a thousand members at the course I play and once a bit of mud sticks (pun) it sticks for ever and a day.  Look, golf is a funny game, if you went five for five in baseball everybody would be slapping your back, shot par with a 15 handicap and eyebrows will be raised.......

post #40 of 50

Isn't that the way, scarecrow! I'm reminded of the quote from Patrick Campbell, who quipped, "Golf is the only game in which a precise knowledge of the rules can earn one a reputation for bad sportsmanship."

post #41 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post

Isn't that the way, scarecrow! I'm reminded of the quote from Patrick Campbell, who quipped, "Golf is the only game in which a precise knowledge of the rules can earn one a reputation for bad sportsmanship."

Touche .....

post #42 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post

Isn't that the way, scarecrow! I'm reminded of the quote from Patrick Campbell, who quipped, "Golf is the only game in which a precise knowledge of the rules can earn one a reputation for bad sportsmanship."

 

That's about the stupidest thing I've ever heard.  Certainly is nothing at all like my personal experience. 

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by thescarecrow View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post

 

As you know, it doesn't matter what the marker thinks. His job is to write numbers on the scorecard. If he doesn't like the numbers he's given to write down, he has a duty, in the scoring area, to bring to the attention of the scorer what he thinks the numbers should be. The Committee will rule.

I understand with what you are saying and I do not disagree, however, we have over a thousand members at the course I play and once a bit of mud sticks (pun) it sticks for ever and a day.  Look, golf is a funny game, if you went five for five in baseball everybody would be slapping your back, shot par with a 15 handicap and eyebrows will be raised.......

 

 

Wouldn't matter to me if there were 10,000 members.  It's not my problem if they don't know the rules. 

post #43 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

That's about the stupidest thing I've ever heard.  Certainly is nothing at all like my personal experience. 

 

 

 

 

Wouldn't matter to me if there were 10,000 members.  It's not my problem if they don't know the rules. 

you have missed the point.......... It is not about knowing or not knowing the rules.................

post #44 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by thescarecrow View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

That's about the stupidest thing I've ever heard.  Certainly is nothing at all like my personal experience. 

 

 

 

 

Wouldn't matter to me if there were 10,000 members.  It's not my problem if they don't know the rules. 

you have missed the point.......... It is not about knowing or not knowing the rules.................

 

Well, then you have failed to make any point, because it sure sounds like that to me.  Or you are worried about your image if a few yokels who don't know the rules start spreading malicious rumors.  

 

In any event, I've played strictly by the rules for more than 20 years now, and I don't really care what anyone else thinks.  I'm not going to miss an opportunity to let the rules work for me just because my marker happens to be an ignoramus. 

post #45 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

Well, then you have failed to make any point, because it sure sounds like that to me.  Or you are worried about your image if a few yokels who don't know the rules start spreading malicious rumors.  

 

In any event, I've played strictly by the rules for more than 20 years now, and I don't really care what anyone else thinks.  I'm not going to miss an opportunity to let the rules work for me just because my marker happens to be an ignoramus. 

Are you for real?  Can You read? Who said the marker is an ignoramus? Who said you don't play by the rules? You need to get out of the house more

post #46 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by thescarecrow View Post

Look I will spell it out...............The marker would assume you are CHEATING ......I have had played many  rounds with markers that I do not know, if we were playing the first hole and he saw my ball on a tee........Well?      What would you think?   Do you understand where I am coming from.?  That is why I am saying Not recommended.         Perception.

If the marker assumes you're cheating, then he's an idiot. If he observes something he feels is unusual, he should investigate/question, but assumptions are never a good idea.

Beyond that though, if you're worried about "perception", the easy thing to do is to engage your opponent. Whenever your intent is to do something a little out of the ordinary, bring him over and explain what you're going to do.....just as you would if you want to fix an old pitch mark on your line on the green. If he pitches a fit, bring over a rules official and have it explained to him.

This game is tough. The rules generally hinder more than they help. The few times that you can benefit by knowing and applying the rules correctly, you're foolish if you don't do so.
post #47 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by thescarecrow View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

Well, then you have failed to make any point, because it sure sounds like that to me.  Or you are worried about your image if a few yokels who don't know the rules start spreading malicious rumors.  

 

In any event, I've played strictly by the rules for more than 20 years now, and I don't really care what anyone else thinks.  I'm not going to miss an opportunity to let the rules work for me just because my marker happens to be an ignoramus. 

Are you for real?  Can You read? Who said the marker is an ignoramus? Who said you don't play by the rules? You need to get out of the house more

 

Relax Bud.  If you stated your concerns in a clear, concise manner, then I wouldn't have to make inferences.  You said you wouldn't use an abandoned tee because of what your marker might think, and then you expanded on that to infer that he would pass the word around the club that you played loose with the rules, and 1000 members would think you were a cheater.  You said those things, not me.  Your statements were so cryptic that while you really never said anything firmly, you left the door wide open for supposition, then pointed us right at the door.  You said that you wouldn't use a tee in such a situation, and that's fine.  No problem.  You should have stopped right there.  Then you started coming up with these strange reasons for why you wouldn't do it, and even inferred that it was not within the rules.  Since this is a rules forum, it had to be made clear to anyone reading that there was nothing wrong with such a move and that your inference was incorrect.  

 

When I'm acting as marker for a player and he is doing something that I question, I'll approach and ask him about it.  Same thing when I'm acting in my capacity as a rules official.  I sure as hell wouldn't go shooting my mouth off around the clubhouse.  If I think that there is reason, I would take it to the competition committee, but even then only if I'm quite certain that something isn't right, or I am unable to answer the question myself.

post #48 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

Relax Bud.  If you stated your concerns in a clear, concise manner, then I wouldn't have to make inferences.  You said you wouldn't use an abandoned tee because of what your marker might think, and then you expanded on that to infer that he would pass the word around the club that you played loose with the rules, and 1000 members would think you were a cheater.  You said those things, not me.  Your statements were so cryptic that while you really never said anything firmly, you left the door wide open for supposition, then pointed us right at the door.  You said that you wouldn't use a tee in such a situation, and that's fine.  No problem.  You should have stopped right there.  Then you started coming up with these strange reasons for why you wouldn't do it, and even inferred that it was not within the rules.  Since this is a rules forum, it had to be made clear to anyone reading that there was nothing wrong with such a move and that your inference was incorrect.  

 

When I'm acting as marker for a player and he is doing something that I question, I'll approach and ask him about it.  Same thing when I'm acting in my capacity as a rules official.  I sure as hell wouldn't go shooting my mouth off around the clubhouse.  If I think that there is reason, I would take it to the competition committee, but even then only if I'm quite certain that something isn't right, or I am unable to answer the question myself.

very righteous response................

post #49 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post


If the marker assumes you're cheating, then he's an idiot. If he observes something he feels is unusual, he should investigate/question, but assumptions are never a good idea.

Beyond that though, if you're worried about "perception", the easy thing to do is to engage your opponent. Whenever your intent is to do something a little out of the ordinary, bring him over and explain what you're going to do.....just as you would if you want to fix an old pitch mark on your line on the green. If he pitches a fit, bring over a rules official and have it explained to him.

This game is tough. The rules generally hinder more than they help. The few times that you can benefit by knowing and applying the rules correctly, you're foolish if you don't do so.

I agree with what you are saying, however

 

If I do not know the marker, I do not know if he is an idiot or not.......Most markers do not investigate/question for fear of conflict.  Most players avoid conflict as it brings the whole group down.......So, sometimes it just pays to just hit it as it lies....That is what I am trying to say.......... 

post #50 of 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by thescarecrow View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

Relax Bud.  If you stated your concerns in a clear, concise manner, then I wouldn't have to make inferences.  You said you wouldn't use an abandoned tee because of what your marker might think, and then you expanded on that to infer that he would pass the word around the club that you played loose with the rules, and 1000 members would think you were a cheater.  You said those things, not me.  Your statements were so cryptic that while you really never said anything firmly, you left the door wide open for supposition, then pointed us right at the door.  You said that you wouldn't use a tee in such a situation, and that's fine.  No problem.  You should have stopped right there.  Then you started coming up with these strange reasons for why you wouldn't do it, and even inferred that it was not within the rules.  Since this is a rules forum, it had to be made clear to anyone reading that there was nothing wrong with such a move and that your inference was incorrect.  

 

When I'm acting as marker for a player and he is doing something that I question, I'll approach and ask him about it.  Same thing when I'm acting in my capacity as a rules official.  I sure as hell wouldn't go shooting my mouth off around the clubhouse.  If I think that there is reason, I would take it to the competition committee, but even then only if I'm quite certain that something isn't right, or I am unable to answer the question myself.

very righteous response................

 

You have a really nice day.  I'm done.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Placing my ball on a fairway pitch mark to tee up ball. Wrong or right?