For the rules guys here, please explain this to me.
Player 1 hits his tee shot into a dense wooded area on the right. He isn't sure if it is going to be found, so he declares and plays a provisional.
After player 1 hits his provisional ball, we drive up to where we believe his original ball is located. After a quick search, we find his original ball, but it's very deep in a thick wooded area with no chance to hit at it, and no options to take an unplayable lie, except to rehit from the tee under stroke and distance.
No, my understanding is that at this point, since his original ball is found, his provisional ball is no longer even an option. You are not allowed to play it no matter.
So, as his only option is to rehit from the tee under stroke and distance, we turn around, trek back to the tee, and he then hits #3 from there.
What I really don't get, is that if the entire point of hitting a provisional is to save some time, why would it not be an option to play the provisional as stroke and distance unplayable lie, instead of having to return to the tee, just to hit a 3rd ball, because your first provisional ball is null and void as soon as you find your original ball? This exact situation occurred today, and there was an argument about whether he could use his provisional to proceed under stroke and distance playable lie. My thought is that he can not. But why not? We are trying to save time. Why is he going to drive back and re-hit a 3rd tee shot?