In my example he did have the choice between 2 known balls. The provisional at 1 ft for a tap in 4, or an unplayable with the only option to go back to the tee and re hit. This is exactly the same situation.
I have no idea what you are taking about. Are you talking about your proposal, or the rule? If you are trying to tell us that is what the rule says then you are wrong. He has no choice to play the provisional ball if he knows where the original ball lies, unless it lies out of bounds. If the location of the original ball is known, then the provisional ball is abandoned. There is no choice between balls. If he chooses not to look for the original ball, then he doesn't know where it is, and again, he is only making a procedural choice because there is only one ball to play. You can't have it both ways.