Just a quick question that relates to lost balls. The other day I bladed a wedge from about 60 yards out and it flew over the green and into the woods behind - I dropped right next to my divot in the fairway, and hit 4 instead of 3. It was just a friendly round, but it sounds like I did this correctly?
Anyway - I am really not that good a golfer, so I will always just take a drop nearest the point I think I lost it and take the necessary strokes. I like to play in the morning when courses are busiest, so there is always someone up my butt and simply driving back to the tee to re-hit is not an option when they're walking off the green from the last hole. I play by the rules as best I can otherwise. I am not one of the lucky ones who always magically finds his ball, lol. Though I have played with those people before.
If you bladed your 2nd shot, then yes, you would be hitting 4. You are suppose to drop as near as possible to the location from which you bladed your wedge. Assuming your "divot" with a "bladed wedge" is in front of the ball, then you should try to drop just behind your divot. (Side note- if you had hit it fat and were taking a near as possible drop, then it is my understanding that you should try to drop it as near as possible to your divot...the rules don't seem to care if your drop winds up in your divot as long as the ball is not closer to the hole so those who are able to drop more accurately in this situation are rewarded with playing the next shot from their divot)