On whether or not Tiger could see his ball move ...
Someone mentioned that what you can see from the perspective of the camera lens i.e. horizontally is not what Tiger saw from his viewpoint i.e. vertically. They cite the logo being more visible from the horizontal plane used by the camera than from the vertical plane where Tiger's eyes are. Someone else spoke about an "all white ball". IMO both points miss the mark.
Firstly, Tiger is not exactly above the ball. His eyes do not look straight down, he is at an angle. Second, who moves loose impediments that sit immediately next to their ball without keeping one eye on the ball itself? The only reason to be so careful moving those loose impediments is because it may have an impact on the ball, thus causing you to incur a penalty stroke. Third, in a lifetime of play I have moved 1000's of loose impediments near my golf ball and the golf ball logo is not something I ever look at. I look at the entire ball. If the ball moves, it is the entire ball moving that I see.
Also, and not that it matters for reasons stated above, the ball is not "all white", it has multiple areas of markings on it. But even if it were all white, the background behind the ball was virtually all brown, and this provides excellent contrast to see if a white ball has changed positions against the brown background.
I contend that the human eye, assuming 20-20 visions exists in the person viewing this movement, is good enough to see the amount of movement in Tiger's ball. On that basis alone I would believe that Tiger saw the ball move. But there is more. Tiger's own action i.e. the immediate stopping of his attempt to move the stick once the ball had moved, is an indication he saw the ball move.
Golf Channel Reports More to the Story ...
Immediately after his round the Golf Channel reported that when confronted with the film of this incident Tiger stated his ball had oscillated. Well, yesterday the Golf Channel reported more. They said that when confronted Tiger first said "I don't see anything". Shown a 2nd time he said "I still don't see anything". The head rules official then informs Tiger that his ball moved and he accepts two strokes penalty, one for moving the ball and the second for playing it from the wrong position. The Golf Channel also interview, anonymously, some other players. One said that the more this happens with Tiger the more he'll be known for this among the players. Hard to place weight on this without knowing who said it. But fwiw, they aired the comment during the weekend's broadcast.
Tiger's Year and Rules Problems
This is now the fourth time in 2013 whereby Tiger has been involved in one controversy or another over rules situations.
In Dubai he took an embedded ball, made a drop, and played it from the drop. The problem was that his ball was embedded in a sand area i.e. a hazard. You don't get embedded ball relief from such a hazard.
The drop at The Masters.
The drop at The Players Championship on the final 9 after his tee shot went over the water hazard. This one isn't crystal clear because it is scientifically impossible to know where the ball first crossed the water. The blimp camera view makes it appear to be fairly close to the tee box, the 2nd player in Tiger's group says it is fairly close to where ball hit the water.
This latest incident from the BMW.
Three of the four incidents above resulted in Tiger recording / handing in a score lower than that which was earned and the Tour doling out penalties to him that he otherwise had not recorded on his card. This is a disappointing trend for the World's #1 ranked player.
Edited by 9iron - 9/16/13 at 9:09am