or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Tour Talk › 2013 BMW Championship Discussion Thread
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

2013 BMW Championship Discussion Thread - Page 4

post #55 of 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEfree View Post
 

 

When I first looked at shot tracker, he was over the green in 2, on in 4 with 2 chips and 2 putts for 6.  Now his 3rd shot is a penalty stroke and there is no description of his 4 making his 1st chip his 5th shot as opposed to his 3rd.  So maybe a 2 stroke penalty for TW

 

Here is the video of the "double bogey"  

http://www.pgatour.com/video.html/2013/09/13/woods-double-bogeys-no--1-in-round-2-of-the-bmw-championship

 

sounds like his ball moved without him being aware of it

http://golfweek.com/news/2013/sep/13/pga-tour-live-blog-tiger-woods-tracker-bmw-rd-2/

 

Remind me why that is a 2 stroke penalty instead of a single shot?

post #56 of 159
amazing how Tiger gets these penalties, the guys nobody watches would have gone unnoticed. Unreal.

Does this 59 really equal the three 59s shot on par 72 courses?
post #57 of 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEfree View Post
 

Remind me why that is a 2 stroke penalty instead of a single shot?

 

Look it up yourself.

 

When does ski season start again?

post #58 of 159

No way the PGA would have penalized him five years ago. I guess the Tiger teflon has finally been cracked. Probably good for the game that he is now held to the same rules.

post #59 of 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by VOX View Post
 

No way the PGA would have penalized him five years ago.

 

Yes he would have.

 

 

 

Since apparently we can just state things as if they're fact now, where does that leave us? Exactly.

post #60 of 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post
 

 

Yes he would have.

 

 

 

Since apparently we can just state things as if they're fact now, where does that leave us? Exactly.

 

If you believe that, I envy you.

post #61 of 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by VOX View Post
 

If you believe that, I envy you.

 

And I feel sorry for you given what you said. It must be depressing to have such a cynical, sour view of the world.

post #62 of 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCRuzanski View Post

Does this 59 really equal the three 59s shot on par 72 courses?

I would say yes.

 

Par really doesn't mean a whole lot anyways because they can call it whatever they want.  There are routinely par 4's out there these days that are over 500 yards.  I tried doing a search and Duval's 59 came at the Palmer course in the Hope tournament, and even at par 72, it's still under 7,000 yards.  Chip Beck's came at a course that was apparently really easy with no rough, although I couldn't locate the yardage.  This course today (according to their website) is over 7200 from the back.

post #63 of 159
Wow. Late to the party on this. Damn Jim, please don't hurt em'.
post #64 of 159

Gary Woodland looked mad lol

post #65 of 159

Tiger moved a stick, and in response his ball dropped. It clearly moved, but did not move back i.e. oscillate. This is a two stroke penalty. The Golf Channel reported that Tiger did not impose the penalty on himself, they showed him the film and assessed the penalty to him. He claimed he thought the ball oscillated.

 

Sheesh. I have lousy vision and could easily see the ball move (but not move back) in the video, and Tiger was right on top of his ball and he claims he thought it oscillated? Why am I skeptical? Oh well, I'll just have to put in the "metric" and tally this all up that way. :-D

post #66 of 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEfree View Post

Here is the video of the "double bogey"  
http://www.pgatour.com/video.html/2013/09/13/woods-double-bogeys-no--1-in-round-2-of-the-bmw-championship

sounds like his ball moved without him being aware of it
http://golfweek.com/news/2013/sep/13/pga-tour-live-blog-tiger-woods-tracker-bmw-rd-2/

Remind me why that is a 2 stroke penalty instead of a single shot?

It should be a one stroke penalty. Having to play with Sergio tomorrow makes up for the second stroke.
post #67 of 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by VOX View Post

No way the PGA would have penalized him five years ago. I guess the Tiger teflon has finally been cracked. Probably good for the game that he is now held to the same rules.

If you believe that, I pity you.
post #68 of 159
I wonder how many 59s have been shot with a bogey? And that was tough day to shoot low. And is it just me or does Jim only seem to play good at the FedEx cup or in some majors?
post #69 of 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by VOX View Post
 

No way the PGA would have penalized him five years ago. I guess the Tiger teflon has finally been cracked. Probably good for the game that he is now held to the same rules.

 

He might not have gotten caught on video five years ago, but if he was, he'd have been penalized.

post #70 of 159
I wonder how many other players get the video penalties... lol. Oh that's right, nobody watches them like they do Tiger...
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtogolf View Post

He might not have gotten caught on video five years ago, but if he was, he'd have been penalized.
post #71 of 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9iron View Post
 

Tiger moved a stick, and in response his ball dropped. It clearly moved, but did not move back i.e. oscillate. This is a two stroke penalty. The Golf Channel reported that Tiger did not impose the penalty on himself, they showed him the film and assessed the penalty to him. He claimed he thought the ball oscillated.

 

Sheesh. I have lousy vision and could easily see the ball move (but not move back) in the video, and Tiger was right on top of his ball and he claims he thought it oscillated? Why am I skeptical? Oh well, I'll just have to put in the "metric" and tally this all up that way. :-D

 

It's very possible Tiger saw it and tried to get away with one, but it's also possible he was focused on the stick and didn't notice the ball moved about 1/4 of an inch.  I am more surprised there wasn't a rules official around watching him as he moved the brush around his ball.  I'm sure Miceli will be calling for him to be disqualified for signing an incorrect score card tomorrow.

post #72 of 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9iron View Post
 

Tiger moved a stick, and in response his ball dropped. It clearly moved, but did not move back i.e. oscillate. This is a two stroke penalty. The Golf Channel reported that Tiger did not impose the penalty on himself, they showed him the film and assessed the penalty to him. He claimed he thought the ball oscillated.

 

Sheesh. I have lousy vision and could easily see the ball move (but not move back) in the video, and Tiger was right on top of his ball and he claims he thought it oscillated? Why am I skeptical? Oh well, I'll just have to put in the "metric" and tally this all up that way. :-D

Pretty sure it's a one stroke penalty (at that point). The other stroke was because he played it without replacing it.

 

No reason at all to think that somebody with as many cameras on him as Tiger Woods would try to get away with something and risk further penalty.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Tour Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Tour Talk › 2013 BMW Championship Discussion Thread