You fight with Fourputt, myself, and others who disagree with your take on the rules and your attempts to change them so frequently that I took your response as another argument in favor of placing it.
My response was meant to say that there's no logical argument for placing the ball in this situation. There isn't.
But you agree with Fourputt, and in my haste, I misread your response.
I apologize again.
I'm glad that we agree that there's no logical argument for placing. You get to drop, and courses that allow lift, clean, and place are doing so against the advised local rule.
Edit: Given my mistake, which I've admitted to here, I deleted your response M as it wouldn't make much sense anymore. Should you need to hear (read) it again, I goofed in understanding what you were saying when responding to Fourputt. Sorry.