or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › "One, ha ha ha!"
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

"One, ha ha ha!" - Page 2

post #19 of 61

It's the same person that sings "And many more!" at the end of the birthday song. It was maybe funny the first time it was said, now it's just sadly unoriginal.

post #20 of 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perfect Slicer View Post
 

Saying "One" is such and old joke that anyone who says it should be smacked. 

 

It's very important to follow up with a "Two" when the ball is placed back on the tee. Now that's funny. 

 

That's true, I think the next tee shot is your third.

 

One is kind.

post #21 of 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lihu View Post
 

 

That's true, I think the next tee shot is your third.

 

One is kind.

 

What if you hit a 3 wood as the ball lie in the tee box?  Isn't that your 2nd shot?

post #22 of 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkim291968 View Post
 

 

What if you hit a 3 wood as the ball lie in the tee box?  Isn't that your 2nd shot?

 

Sure, but it sounds like he would prefer to tee it up again rather than play it. I tend to play it, but those nice pristine par 4 or par 5 tee boxes get mucked up with divots. Lucky for me I have only done this twice in a little over three years of playing, and those were on really windy days when the ball nearly topples off by itself.

 

To the OP, get some brush tees. They seem to hold the ball in place pretty nicely, so you don't need to tweak it once teed up.

post #23 of 61
Pretty sure it doesn't count as a stroke if you accidentally knock the ball off the tee.
post #24 of 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by MizunoPez View Post

Pretty sure it doesn't count as a stroke if you accidentally knock the ball off the tee.

 

 

It doesn't, that's why some people consider it funny to say "one".

post #25 of 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by MizunoPez View Post

Pretty sure it doesn't count as a stroke if you accidentally knock the ball off the tee.

 

Yeah, I read a article about how that was one of the glaring errors in the novel, "Golf in the Kingdom."

post #26 of 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by vct33 View Post
 

Why is there a moron in every group that has to say "One" and then laugh when you knock the ball off the tee?  It's so freaking annoying and with my pre-shot routine I knock the ball off the tee at least once or twice a round.

 

I'd say that you should improve your routine.  If you provide the ammunition, someone is going to use it.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkim291968 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lihu View Post
 

 

That's true, I think the next tee shot is your third.

 

One is kind.

 

What if you hit a 3 wood as the ball lie in the tee box?  Isn't that your 2nd shot?

 

No it isn't - it wasn't a stroke when you knocked the ball off the tee because the ball was not in play.  If you choose to not tee it for the next try (I've no idea why anyone would do that), it's still just your first stroke.  It's only a stroke if the player makes a stroke.  Once a stroke has been made, the ball is in play, and then it is a penalty if you cause it to move by any means other than a stroke.

 

Quote:
 

Stroke

A “stroke’’ is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke.

 
If you intend to hit the ball and miss the ball completely, it's still a stroke, and the ball is in play.  Now if you  knock the ball off the tee accidentally it's a one stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced. 

Edited by Fourputt - 9/25/13 at 10:33am
post #27 of 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post
 

 

I'd say that you should improve your routine.  If you provide the ammunition, someone is going to use it.

 

 

No it isn't - it wasn't a stroke when you knocked the ball off the tee because the ball was not in play.  If you choose to not tee it for the next try (I've no idea why anyone would do that), it's still just your first stroke.  It's only a stroke if the player makes a stroke.  Once a stroke has been made, the ball is in play, and then it is a penalty if you cause it to move by any means other than a stroke.

 

 

And if you are about to putt and the ball moves even an insignificant amount (say a dung beetle was walking by the ball and mistook it for food ;-)), it's a penalty.   Tongue in cheek.  

post #28 of 61
So, if it is accidentally knocked off then a penalty stroke is incurred and the ball must be replaced?

I think the clubhead reaches the ball, and the intention was to move it.

Or, does it not count?
post #29 of 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lihu View Post

So, if it is accidentally knocked off then a penalty stroke is incurred and the ball must be replaced?

Or, does it not count?

If it is accidentally knocked off of the tee, it is not a stroke and you may replace it. Until you make a stroke, it isn't in play.
post #30 of 61
Okay, I over penalized myself two times in three years.

I'm buying a rule book for my bag.
post #31 of 61

Am I the only one who likes that joke?

post #32 of 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsc123 View Post
 

Am I the only one who likes that joke?

 

What joke?

 

 

 

 

 

... Yes.

post #33 of 61

I always make a remark when someone knocks the ball off the tee because it's funny and I react to funny things.  Some of the quips might be:

"Sometimes a bunt is the smartest play"

"Strike one"

"Is he allowed to re-tee?" (to partners)

"Next one is off the deck"

 

(Yes I'm aware that it is not really a stroke).

post #34 of 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lihu View Post

So, if it is accidentally knocked off then a penalty stroke is incurred and the ball must be replaced?

I think the clubhead reaches the ball, and the intention was to move it.

Or, does it not count?

 

Read what was written above.  If you haven't made a stroke at the ball then it is not in play and there is no penalty.  If you have already swung and whiffed the ball, then it is in play and there is a penalty.

post #35 of 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post
 

 

Read what was written above.  If you haven't made a stroke at the ball then it is not in play and there is no penalty.  If you have already swung and whiffed the ball, then it is in play and there is a penalty.

 

Maybe off topic, but if you whiff, can you then hit your next ball off the tee?

post #36 of 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meltdwhiskey View Post

Maybe off topic, but if you whiff, can you then hit your next ball off the tee?

Yes
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › "One, ha ha ha!"