I played in a charity tournament last weekend. The format was four-person team best ball: Each player plays their own ball all the way to the hole, and the combined 2 best scores on each hole count as the team score. They threw in an added twist that I'd never heard of before which turned out to be quite fun: Each team was given a special ball (they were of various bright colors to help distinguish them, but were basically cheap regulation balls), and each person on the team had to take turns playing that ball as their ball for the entire hole. If your team still had that ball at the end of the round, it got put in a drawing for $200 cash.
[Note: This tournament wasn't played under the official rules of golf in that 1) I don't think there's any such thing as a four-person/two-best-balls format, 2) I don't think you can implement a local rule requiring a particular ball to be rotated among the competitors, and 3) Mulligans were for sale. (This tournament has been a scramble in previous years, so it's still pretty loosey goosey). That said though, the tournament director did ask that we all play by the official rules, including no more than 5 minutes spent looking for the colored ball.]
I figured there was no chance of us not losing it, since the course was bordered by a lot of ball-eating forests, 2 of us on the team were sprayers (me and my brother-in-law), and one (my father-in-law) was a short hitter with no chance of clearing some of the hazards in front of some of the tees we were playing from. But somehow, despite several close calls that included finding the ball on the last hole with seconds to spare in the allotted time, we still had it at the end. 4 out of the 10 teams lost theirs.
We didn't win the $200, but I thought it was a cool idea, as it brought some interesting strategy into play. First, you needed to decide what the order of playing the ball would be because you want to try to get the ball to the weaker players on the par 3's or holes with the least trouble, and you don't want the short hitters to have the ball when they have to carry a hazard. Then, if you were the one with the colored ball on a particular hole, you had to weigh how aggressive to be depending on how much you brought the risk of losing the ball into play vs. whether you might be required to provide one of the two best scores on that hole, which depended on how everyone else was lying.
Other considerations, resulting from still trying to play by the rules, came in to play as well: At one point my FIL hit his tee shot with the colored ball into a deep ravine with tall grass. After he hit his provisional safely across, I suggested he go up and hit that one before looking for his first, since he wouldn't have been able to get a club on his first even if he found it, so if he did find he's have to go back to the tee with it and risk hitting into the junk again. By hitting his provisional from a spot past where his first was likely to be, it becomes the ball in play and we can go back and look for the first without having to play it if we find it.
Anyway, just thought I'd describe this twist as I thought it was novel and fun.
And btw, my wife won $50 for longest women's drive.