or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › What Ruling Would You Have Made?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

What Ruling Would You Have Made? - Page 3

post #37 of 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick1998bunker View Post


No the only time I can remeber going into yellow there was a drop zone. But what do you get from yellow?

 

Let me get this straight.

 

You have been playing golf for a number of years and only once hit your ball into a water hazard (that is, a WH marked with yellow stakes)? Where have you been playing, in a desert??

post #38 of 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick1998bunker View Post


No the only time I can remeber going into yellow there was a drop zone. But what do you get from yellow?

 

When I asked if you had ever opened a rule book did you not think there may be a hint there?

 

But to save you the effort

 

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/

 

Look for Water Hazard and Lateral Water Hazard

 

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-26/#26-1

post #39 of 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post

When I asked if you had ever opened a rule book did you not think there may be a hint there?

But to save you the effort

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/

Look for Water Hazard and Lateral Water Hazard

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-26/#26-1
I think I was doing it right just had the names backwards
post #40 of 45

What course is this? I always like to check distances on Google Earth on these types of posts...just for fun. 

post #41 of 45
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKolya View Post
 

What course is this? I always like to check distances on Google Earth on these types of posts...just for fun. 

 

River Pines in John's Creek, GA.

 

A little update on this post, I played again on Saturday and oddly hit in this area again - although a much weaker shot that first hit the fairway and then kicked left and for sure landed in that rough area short of the creek and pretty close to the path.  We had talked about the 'virtual certainty' clause. With my ball in there this time, it was very obvious.  I took a look around and decided that I should not have had a hard time finding it in that rough.  I'd say now that for it to have not gone in the creek, it would have had to go in a little ditch-type thing short of the rough area.  You might be able to make out on the graphic - it is a little darker green rectangle that extends from the path to the tree line to the lower left. I'm closer to virtual certainty.

post #42 of 45
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post
 

There's the question.  How can you play the game to a 5.8 handicap without knowing that very fundamental difference?

 

This was kind of my original thought when responding to Nick.  On the one hand, how does one get that low without knowing the rules.  On the other, did ignorance of the rules help contribute to the lowering of the cap?  I have no doubt that he hits the ball great or he wouldn't be near a 5.  But that is a really low cap to be not understanding some of the more basic rules.

post #43 of 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meltdwhiskey View Post

This was kind of my original thought when responding to Nick.  On the one hand, how does one get that low without knowing the rules.  On the other, did ignorance of the rules help contribute to the lowering of the cap?  I have no doubt that he hits the ball great or he wouldn't be near a 5.  But that is a really low cap to be not understanding some of the more basic rules.
I just had the words backward. An I asked the kid who I learned the rules from and he thought it was backwards too
post #44 of 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick1998bunker View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meltdwhiskey View Post

This was kind of my original thought when responding to Nick.  On the one hand, how does one get that low without knowing the rules.  On the other, did ignorance of the rules help contribute to the lowering of the cap?  I have no doubt that he hits the ball great or he wouldn't be near a 5.  But that is a really low cap to be not understanding some of the more basic rules.
I just had the words backward. An I asked the kid who I learned the rules from and he thought it was backwards too

 

If that's how you learned the rules, then you haven't learned the rules.  90% of rules learned by word of mouth are incorrect in some way.  If he had something that simple wrong, then how likely is it that he was even worse on anything more complicated?

post #45 of 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

If that's how you learned the rules, then you haven't learned the rules.  90% of rules learned by word of mouth are incorrect in some way.  If he had something that simple wrong, then how likely is it that he was even worse on anything more complicated?
well on my team we reviewed the rules and I knew it all(we referred to hazards by their color) and also usually one of your playing partners knows the rules and they can help. Also if there is still a dispute I call rule 3-3 where you can play a ball for the 2 rules and afterwards get help to decide the correct ruling. We use that a lot at the junior level
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › What Ruling Would You Have Made?