Hi to all,
today at the first hole, i hit my driver left to the rough, while i was walking towards my ball, another player playing the 7th hole whose drive had gone way left was (i think) pretty close to where my ball was, but i didn´t pay too much attention........... until i arrived and saw my ball was not there. I am sure he played my ball or just picked it.
The thing is, when this happens and you can´t go back to the tee to play your third shot because of all the time it takes you, can you place a new ball to the closest position you think your first ball was and still have a legal score in that hole?
I play in Spain so i guess i am under St. Andrews rules.
What i did was write an "X" in my scorecard for that hole, it makes me so ungry to play a round and not being to go back home and say "i made an 82, 84,.... (whatever) today".
Thanks a lot for your help.