That's right. Other than this one sentence ... "Woods has had a series of brushes with the rule book in 2013." ... this guy never makes mention of anything but the incident at the BMW. Good for him. Those who, like Chamblee, tried to use Tigers other rules issues to score points actually, IMO, weaken their own arguments. They're just grasping at straws in those other cases.
Look, I'm not willing to call Tiger a cheater, but I cannot help but wonder what the heck was going through his mind when he let go of that stick. He has no (meaning zero, nada, zilch) history of any impropriety whatsoever, so for that reason alone, he gets the benefit of the doubt from me. (Just like Simon Dyson, to my knowledge so far, has no history, therefore he gets the benefit as well)
But the more and more I think about it ... the more I can't help but start to lean towards the side of thinking that I'm just plain disappointed in Tiger over this. I've argued on this and the other threads that it's perfectly reasonable to conclude that Tiger stopped moving the stick because he saw the ball start to move, but when he let go of the stick he thought it only oscillated. Perfectly reasonable. However, when I try and put myself in that exact position, try to imagine that I am Tiger, I don't get the jump from the moment of dropping the stick (where you obviously saw something) to the moment of defiance in the scorer's tent. It seems like you wouldn't at all be surprised when the rules officials came up to tell you that your ball did, in fact, move. I imagine you'd be kicking yourself for not being cautious and assessing the penalty.
So, while it's still perfectly reasonable for me to say that Tiger concluded that his ball only oscillated, I would also add that I feel that Tiger should have known, deep down, that it was also possible for his ball to have moved. Wouldn't a lot of other golfers thought processes be something like "Man, I'm pretty sure that ball only oscillated, however, there is a possibility, 0.0001%, that it could have dropped straight down, and since I'm looking from directly above, I wouldn't have been able to see that?" And, wouldn't that teeny, tiny shred of doubt be enough for a lot of tour pros to go ahead and assess the penalty?
Anyways ... disappointed. That's about where I stand currently.
Edited by ghalfaire - 11/6/13 at 6:02pm