or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Provisional shot better than first shot
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Provisional shot better than first shot

post #1 of 18
Thread Starter 

hey, I'm just wondering how many people also find that their provisional shot always seems to end up in a better position that their first shot. I know that having to take a provisional in the first place must mean that your fist shot was pretty bad and that the chances of having two bad shots is slim.. but i thought it is an interesting thing and was wondering is it a mindset that improves the second shot, and if so, how can I achieve this mindset consistently?

post #2 of 18

No such luck. I played an out-of-town course a few years back. I was having a wild month off the tee, so I hit three provisionals after exciting drives on various holes. I was specifically hitting provos with a digit "4" on them to tell them apart from the first drive.

 

All three first tee shots somehow ended up in bounds, but I lost all three provisionals.

post #3 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kieran92 View Post
 

hey, I'm just wondering how many people also find that their provisional shot always seems to end up in a better position that their first shot. I know that having to take a provisional in the first place must mean that your fist shot was pretty bad and that the chances of having two bad shots is slim.. but i thought it is an interesting thing and was wondering is it a mindset that improves the second shot, and if so, how can I achieve this mindset consistently?

One can hit many bad shots in a row. I once hit seven OB before finding the fairway.

 

I think it was Dr Bob Rotella's "Putting Out Of You Mind" that suggests hitting shorter putts as if they have been conceded. I do not recall if he suggested a mind trick to help you hit them as if they are good, but I do try to remind myself that if "this put" had been conceded, I'd put a good, free, stroke on the ball. Same on the tee. We play "hit two choose one" on the first tee (disagree with that in another thread if you wish). I find I almost never hit a second ball and think much of that is knowing it is there if I want it. Move to the second tee (much more forgiving tee shot) and I tense up and often pull my drive left. It is defiantly a "mindset" thing.

post #4 of 18

For me it's because I'm unlikely to make the same mistake (in the same direction) twice in a row.

 

I might miss the other way (and often do) but not the same way. Thankfully I don't play a lot of holes with OB on both sides and I'm pretty lucky on those holes anyway.

post #5 of 18

I think MS256 pretty much has it.  Given a second chance - you might correct the mistake.  Also, 2 chances to get one in play always beat 1 chance to hit one in play - the odds are just more on your side when hitting 2.

 

I also think there might be a perception of how often that second ball goes well that might be over represented.  When seeing someone hit a good provisional, I often hear "the second one is always great" or something similar.  But I also see a bunch of provisionals that are bad and no one says anything.  Maybe we just remember the good ones?

 

Regarding Rusty's rules violation - I recall in a thread you wrote that if you didn't hit a provisional and ended up lost, that you would most certainly return to the tee for a re-hit despite holding up those behind you because "I'm the guy playing by the rules." I guess just the rules you want to use, huh?

post #6 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meltdwhiskey View Post
 

I think MS256 pretty much has it.  Given a second chance - you might correct the mistake.  Also, 2 chances to get one in play always beat 1 chance to hit one in play - the odds are just more on your side when hitting 2.

 

I also think there might be a perception of how often that second ball goes well that might be over represented.  When seeing someone hit a good provisional, I often hear "the second one is always great" or something similar.  But I also see a bunch of provisionals that are bad and no one says anything.  Maybe we just remember the good ones?

 

Regarding Rusty's rules violation - I recall in a thread you wrote that if you didn't hit a provisional and ended up lost, that you would most certainly return to the tee for a re-hit despite holding up those behind you because "I'm the guy playing by the rules." I guess just the rules you want to use, huh?

Don't wish to highjack thread. Group plays "hit two choose one" and a few years ago it cost us a player who could not abide. So, yes. I play by the rules I wish. For example, I will not go through a multi-drop procedure when I know the first drop will not matter (e.g. end up on a cart path). But as the 54 year old youngest player in our 20+ year old group, I play by that group's rule on the first tee. And I have lost the hole many times to a guy who has used his second shot, and the stroke I'm giving him, to win the hole.

 

Back to OP, I agree that the second one is better theory is over represented. I seen lots of bad provisionals. When playing match play, I seen many-a surrender while standing on the tee.

post #7 of 18

I also find my 2nd ball is usually better than my first.  It's not always great, but I can only remember a few times where I've actually put the 2nd ball OB as well and had to hit a 3rd. Oftentimes my experience is just like you describe.  Just Saturday on the 2nd hole, first driver of the day, got snappy and pulled my 1st drive OB.  2nd drive was one of my best of the day, pumped down the middle.

 

I totally agree with Rustyredcab's mental stuff though.  I often find my best shots are non-stock ones, whether I need to hit it low/high, a big fade or draw, or like an 85% shot or something.  I think that's because it forces me to not let mechanical thoughts or other outside thoughts creep in cause they don't really apply to the shot at hand, and I'm freer and just envisioning my shot and whatnot.

post #8 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kieran92 View Post
 

hey, I'm just wondering how many people also find that their provisional shot always seems to end up in a better position that their first shot. I know that having to take a provisional in the first place must mean that your fist shot was pretty bad and that the chances of having two bad shots is slim.. but i thought it is an interesting thing and was wondering is it a mindset that improves the second shot, and if so, how can I achieve this mindset consistently?

 

Not necessarily. How many times have you been playing with somebody who hits a bad drive and has to hit a provisional and says, "Oh, I don't have another ball. Anybody got one?" And he hits your ball in a worse place? It is almost guaranteed.:~(

post #9 of 18

If I use the same club I will often make the same mistake out of some sort of panic mode.  I usually will now pick a different club if I need to play a provisional just to get a different feel.

 

edit:  Also another reason I love the Driveway!

post #10 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kieran92 View Post
 

hey, I'm just wondering how many people also find that their provisional shot always seems to end up in a better position that their first shot. I know that having to take a provisional in the first place must mean that your fist shot was pretty bad and that the chances of having two bad shots is slim.. but i thought it is an interesting thing and was wondering is it a mindset that improves the second shot, and if so, how can I achieve this mindset consistently?

 

I agree that more often the provisional ball is a better shot, but I can recall one time in particular where that wasn't so.  I yanked my drive left into the 2-3 foot native rough, played 3 provisionals almost identically before finally getting the 5th ball in play.  In the area where my first 4 balls went, I don't even bother to look because even if found there is no way you can make a swing.  If I have the time, I may go look after I play my approach, but I'm not about to accidentally find one of the balls out there and have to go back to the tee after already mucking up the hole so badly.  If I look at all, I make sure first than none of them can be the ball in play.

post #11 of 18

Well, given that the first shot was so bad that it resulted in the need for a provisional in the first place, I would hope that the provisional would be better more often than not!   :-)

post #12 of 18

My buddies and I joke that our B player's close to turning pro.  

post #13 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by phan52 View Post
 

 

Not necessarily. How many times have you been playing with somebody who hits a bad drive and has to hit a provisional and says, "Oh, I don't have another ball. Anybody got one?" And he hits your ball in a worse place? It is almost guaranteed.:~(

 

LOL.   I ran into one such guy who had to borrow a ball from me.  He ran out of his balls on front 9 but didn't lose the borrowed ball and finished the round with it.

 

Back to OT - I usually (not always) hit better on 2nd shot.   But I've hit 2nd one into OB before.   I dare not hit 3rd in fear of holding up the group behind.   So, I don't have too many experience hitting 3 OBs in a row, well, not any more ;-).  

 

In tournament play, I wonder, what others have seen for most consecutive provision balls hit by one player?   3, 4, 5, or more?

post #14 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkim291968 View Post
 

LOL.   I ran into one such guy who had to borrow a ball from me.  He ran out of his balls on front 9 but didn't lose the borrowed ball and finished the round with it.

 

Back to OT - I usually (not always) hit better on 2nd shot.   But I've hit 2nd one into OB before.   I dare not hit 3rd in fear of holding up the group behind.   So, I don't have too many experience hitting 3 OBs in a row, well, not any more ;-).  

 

In tournament play, I wonder, what others have seen for most consecutive provision balls hit by one player?   3, 4, 5, or more?

 

I would hope that someone who has already gone OB 3 times would just take out a 9i or something and get one in play.

post #15 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kieran92 View Post
 

hey, I'm just wondering how many people also find that their provisional shot always seems to end up in a better position that their first shot. I know that having to take a provisional in the first place must mean that your fist shot was pretty bad and that the chances of having two bad shots is slim.. but i thought it is an interesting thing and was wondering is it a mindset that improves the second shot, and if so, how can I achieve this mindset consistently?


My second shot used to always better than my first.

 

The problem is that...

 

After working so hard for this past month hitting ball after ball to get a much more consistent swing, my second shot ends up in the same bad place as my first.

I need to learn to :censored: aim before hitting.

post #16 of 18

Yes but only because I play conservative usually making a club change to ensure it stays in play.

post #17 of 18

The provisional is almost always perfect..........LOL

 

 

It's like missing that 4' putt........then raking it back, and it always goes in center cut once it doesn't matter.  One of my former playing partners seemingly always re-putted after missing.....and he almost always made it the 2nd time.  I'd always say something to the effect of ........."Damn, that other guy is a good putter".  LOL

post #18 of 18

Player "B" is an all out "STICK"

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Provisional shot better than first shot