or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Marking Another Player's Ball
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Marking Another Player's Ball

post #1 of 6
Thread Starter 

In pro golf I seen phil the thrill mark another players ball in the china tourney.I was surprised,I thought that wasnt allowed or would be frowned upon on the tour.

post #2 of 6

It is allowed and it is not frowned upon.

Why would you think otherwise?

post #3 of 6
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shorty View Post
 

It is allowed and it is not frowned upon.

Why would you think otherwise?

Lets see.Ive been watching pro golf for a good 2 years solid and its the first time I seen it happen,I guess thats why

post #4 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitz28179 View Post

Lets see.Ive been watching pro golf for a good 2 years solid and its the first time I seen it happen,I guess thats why

While you don't see it very often, it's perfectly alright for a fellow competitor to lift a players ball if the player authorizes him to do so.


20-1. Lifting And Marking

A ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorized by the player. In any such case, the player is responsible for any breach of the Rules.
post #5 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post


While you don't see it very often, it's perfectly alright for a fellow competitor to lift a players ball if the player authorizes him to do so.


20-1. Lifting And Marking

A ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorized by the player. In any such case, the player is responsible for any breach of the Rules.

I do it fairly often when senior players are in our group, just to save them the trouble. One day I marked the same person's ball 5 times during the round with a quarter and each time he put the quarter in his pocket. I'm pretty sure he didn't even realize he was keeping my quarters and since he's a really nice guy I didn't have the heart to ask for my 5 quarters back.

post #6 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitz28179 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shorty View Post
 

It is allowed and it is not frowned upon.

Why would you think otherwise?

Lets see.Ive been watching pro golf for a good 2 years solid and its the first time I seen it happen,I guess thats why

 

Two whole years?  ;-)

 

I've been watching the pros for 40 years, and I have seen it before.  It's rare for them because they have caddies, and they usually get to the green together, or at least close enough that it's not necessary.  I've seen it before when one player had to wait on a ruling for his approach while his fellow competitor played and went straight to the green.  The FC was away once both balls were on the green, and was ready to putt before the delayed player got to the green, so he signaled his intent, got permission, and lifted the FC's ball.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Marking Another Player's Ball