What's the problem then? The rule is there for a reason
You should be able to ground your club in a sandtrap provided you dont move the ball. Thats the dumbest of the rules that are commonly seen. As if you can't tell what the conditions are like when you walk into the bunker by feeling the sand with your feet. Also what good would grounding your club do if you are hitting a sand shot and you hit several inches behind the ball anyways. Its just a dumb rule, period. It should be the same rule as addressing the ball not in a bunker(ie you cant tamp down /etc in an attempt to improve your lie). Also if you fall in a sand trap you are allowed to touch the ground with your club or body to prevent the fall or cushion the fall with no penalty. You can see a video on this on the USGA website in the rules area "Ball in Hazard" Video.