or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ball landed in lake (no water in there), red stakes around OOB area.. I hit my ball from basin of lake and give myself a penalty stroke, is this correct?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Ball landed in lake (no water in there), red stakes around OOB area.. I hit my ball from basin of...

post #1 of 6
Thread Starter 

Hi,

Played yesterday, and landed in a waterless/drained lake.The lake has been drained, and I can get to my ball quite easily.. The lake is marked with red stakes, and I chip ball out of area.. I give myself a penalty shot for this.. I landed in the lake on my second shot, not off the tee obviously, so my chip out of lake was then my fourth shot (inc one stroke penalty)..

 

New to golf, and thought I was doing the correct thing, is this the case.. If not what may I have done here.

 

Thank you in advance for any help here.

Cheers

Looseleftie

post #2 of 6
No need to add a penalty. You can play a ball from a hazard. You can't ground your club or move loose impediments or some other things, though.
post #3 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post

No need to add a penalty. You can play a ball from a hazard. You can't ground your club or move loose impediments or some other things, though.

 

What do you mean by 'some other things' ?

post #4 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignorant View Post
 

What do you mean by 'some other things' ?

 

I was on my phone, so I was being brief, but "test the condition" is another thing that I didn't specifically list.

post #5 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post
 

 

I was on my phone, so I was being brief, but "test the condition" is another thing that I didn't specifically list.

 

Ok. I asked because I read your post 'move loose impediments or (move) some other things' and was wondering what could be a 'thing' that cannot be moved apart from LI's.

post #6 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignorant View Post
 

Ok. I asked because I read your post 'move loose impediments or (move) some other things' and was wondering what could be a 'thing' that cannot be moved apart from LI's.

 

And I typed it as "a OR b OR c" but I could have added "do" as in "or do some other things."

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
  • Ball landed in lake (no water in there), red stakes around OOB area.. I hit my ball from basin of lake and give myself a penalty stroke, is this correct?
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ball landed in lake (no water in there), red stakes around OOB area.. I hit my ball from basin of lake and give myself a penalty stroke, is this correct?