I was playing a competitive round with three friends and following is the ruling given to me which I disagree with.
There is water on the right off the tee shot to about 200 yards and then a landing area part fairway & rough with water further to the right, about 30 yards or so.
In other words the fairway is narrow up to 200 yards from the tee then it widens out 30 yards more and then it narrows again about 40 yards further towards the green.
I hit a solid push fade of, by my estimate, 225 yards over the first bit of the lake and saw the ball landing but did not see it bounce or splash. We did not find my ball and my opinion is that the ball must have bounced right or forward and entered the lake. I am positive that I carried the first part of the lake & knowing that you take your penalty drop from where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard, that is where I wanted to drop.
My fellow competitors did not agree and wanted me to go way back and take my penalty drop much further from the hole (which I did and made bogey).
I know I can play two balls, but this was an informal game and there was no rules committee.
In this circumstance what would you advise?
I hope my description of the issue has been clear.
Thanks for your comments / advice.