Originally Posted by Dormie1360
Originally Posted by Fourputt
Thank you. Switching the teeing ground at random during play simply does not fit the conventional meaning of a round of golf by any stretch that I can imagine. Forget any "official" terminology if you want. For every casual round I've ever played, the first thing my group does is ask "What tees are we playing?" If the question doesn't come up, then it's because we know that we always play the "X" tees on that particular course. In any event, we have set the round that we are going to play. It's tacitly understood that this decision applies to every hole unless we have modified it before starting.
While we could recognize a great shot in the OP's case, it would not be seen in my group of friends as a legitimate ace because it was not made under the conditions we had agreed to at the outset. That is probably my last word on it. It's my opinion, and it's the only way I can look at it.
Ok, got some sleep.
A lot of good points by both you and Colin. I think we could all correctly score a par 3 for someone.
Applying the rules without mercy, my discussion point would be what the correct tee for the hole was. I see mention of Conditions of Competition by a Committee which I agree stipulates what tees. I'll even agree to a tacit understanding in a casual round among a group, although I do think this is somewhat harsh and more difficult to apply.
Having said all that, if I go out and play a round of golf by myself, who decides my tees and C of C? Do I have to mentally determine this before the start of the round... for all the holes? Does it have to be the same tee for all holes? If I come to a par 3, (with people watching), and play the back tee instead of the middle tee, do I have to DQ myself? If I play the back tee and score a 1, did I ace the hole? If I played the front tee on the Par 3 and holed out, did I ace it? I bet the guys in the 19th hole would be pissed if I didn't buy.
Back to the OP's question. I wouldn't loose any sleep saying nice hole in one. May the USGA an R&A have mercy on my soul.
Okay, let me make one more comparison. You make an ace on a 150 yard hole on a par 3 course. Is it a legitimate ace? I'd say yes, but without the status of the same feat on an 18 hole regulation course, simply because you have so many more opportunities to make an ace on a par 3 course when every hole is reachable from the tee. Even though the OP's case is still played on a regulation course, he has modified the generally accepted requirement of playing the course as intended at the start of the round.
I would have less issue with it had they made the decision only after they got to the hole and found that the carry was an impossible shot for one member of the group, and as a result they only moved up far enough to make it feasible. From the original post, it appears that this was a familiar course which they played on a regular basis, so that condition would not seem to apply. Then too, had they only moved forward one tee, I have less issue with it. It's the fact that they turned a difficult, 220 yard par 3 into a simple 100 yard wedge shot that makes me unable to just give it a pass. If you can justify that, then you can equally justify moving to the forward tees on any hole that you feel is too hard - turn a 520 yard par 5 into a 460 yard hole, then claim the eagle you just made as being no different from your buddy's eagle on the same hole from the 520 tees. As soon as you legitimize such an act once, it's just that much easier to do it again the next time.
Would you think of a 75 scored from the red tees with the same sense of accomplishment as a 75 from the blues?
Originally Posted by Lihu
I have a question.
Sometimes the course changes locations of tees. That is they move the blue to the white and the white to the red. So, if someone aces this setup doesn't it still count?
The other thing is if a player in front of you changed the tee setup (for whatever reason), and you play by them then is this also considered a legitimate round?
Most courses only move a tee forward when they also move the hole to the back of that green, thus maintaining the proper length. If the entire course has the tees moved up, then the rating would be incorrect for the length you are actually playing. You would need to use the correct rating for the length of the set of tees you actually playing from and ignore the color of the markers.