or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › The KyleAnthony Golf Opera Thread
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

The KyleAnthony Golf Opera Thread - Page 49

post #865 of 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post
 

 

I think we've landed on your biggest opportunity!

 

I've played 12 rounds in April, and don't know that I've had more than 3 penalty strokes all month!

That's Hank Haney advice; Hank says high handicappers should focus on three areas to lower their scores; 1) Eliminate penalty strokes, 2) Eliminate 2 chips / pitches, 3) Eliminate 3 putts.  


Edited by newtogolf - 4/30/14 at 10:36pm
post #866 of 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtogolf View Post

Thank's Hank Haney advice; Hank says high handicappers should focus on three areas to lower their scores; 1) Eliminate penalty strokes, 2) Eliminate 2 chips / pitches, 3) Eliminate 3 putts.  

Hank is right about the first…
post #867 of 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post


Hank is right about the first…

I know you're trying to be nice, but I'm curious what your thoughts are on the other two.  I don't hit many penalty shots (though Hank considers a shot into the woods that needs to be punched out a penalty shot as well) but I do have a fair number of 2 chips / pitches that will mess up some good rounds for me.  As I've mentioned in other places, Hank emphasizes all the time that Tiger won when he didn't three putt and that was the difference between his winning and losing.  

post #868 of 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtogolf View Post
 

As I've mentioned in other places, Hank emphasizes all the time that Tiger won when he didn't three putt and that was the difference between his winning and losing.  

 

Hank is wrong. Tiger three-putted a few times and won plenty of times too.

 

Eliminating two-chips and three-putts is relatively easy, on that I'll agree.

post #869 of 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleAnthony View Post
 

so went out and played Terra Lago South Course today because my friend got us a good deal on the course. i didn't think about hitting draws or anything like that. i just went up and hit the ball. i didn't do amazing, but i didn't do bad. i had a lot of fun out there. i enjoyed the course (even though it was pretty windy) so i hit 6 shots off the tee that went OB, but i had some good shots too. i shot a 50-40 for a 90 with 5 fairways hit 3 greens and 30 putts. tomorrow i'll hit the range after work and continue my drills and work on my motions. I'm going to start separating playing and practicing so i expect my handicap to go up a bit but i don't mind because i know it will drop again later

I just have to ask cause this just doesn't quite add up IMO, if I hit 6 balls OB I would have one hell of a time breaking 90 because 6 drives hit OB is like automatically adding 12 to your score (stroke plus distance equals hitting 3 on your next tee shot) and I don't usually have penalty strokes every round like @David in FL so your shooting 78 that day less the penalties right? Sorry to question this Kyle but are you adding the penalty strokes correctly?

post #870 of 934
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by flopster View Post

I just have to ask cause this just doesn't quite add up IMO, if I hit 6 balls OB I would have one hell of a time breaking 90 because 6 drives hit OB is like automatically adding 12 to your score (stroke plus distance equals hitting 3 on your next tee shot) and I don't usually have penalty strokes every round like @David in FL so your shooting 78 that day less the penalties right? Sorry to question this Kyle but are you adding the penalty strokes correctly?
Sorry I guess I was just lumping all tee shots as OB on here. To be more specific I hit 2 OB and 4 lateral hazard. Sorry. I just said OB to kinda generalize which I realize is kinda dumb on my part. The first I hit OB was on a par 3 and I scored a 7 for that hole. The next was a par 4 which I scored a 7 on as well.
post #871 of 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleAnthony View Post


Sorry I guess I was just lumping all tee shots as OB on here. To be more specific I hit 2 OB and 4 lateral hazard. Sorry. I just said OB to kinda generalize which I realize is kinda dumb on my part. The first I hit OB was on a par 3 and I scored a 7 for that hole. The next was a par 4 which I scored a 7 on as well.


4 strokes is huge at our relative handicaps :whistle: 

 

Rule 26-1 states that you need to know (e.g., found the ball sitting in the water) the ball is in the lateral hazard before only taking 1 stroke and a drop. Otherwise you need to play by 27-1, which is the stroke and distance penalty for a normal OB.

 

I hate playing these tiny fairway courses. You need to really throttle back your drives and any other stroke for that matter.

post #872 of 934
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lihu View Post


4 strokes is huge at our relative handicaps e2_whistling.gif  

Rule 26-1 states that you need to know (e.g., found the ball sitting in the water) the ball is in the lateral hazard before only taking 1 stroke and a drop. Otherwise you need to play by 27-1, which is the stroke and distance penalty for a normal OB.

I hate playing these tiny fairway courses. You need to really throttle back your drives and any other stroke for that matter.
the wind really was the main factor in most. Not all. But I had some great drives and the wind took them off course. For wind reference. I hit my 3 wood 260 normally. On one hole down wind. It's a 388 yard par 4 I hit my 3 wood in the green side bunker. Haha but I found my ball in the water on 10 and pulled it out with my putter. 2 I saw splash in the water in the canal. And the other was in the water on this par 5 which I also pulled out since it just rolled in lol.
post #873 of 934
Thread Starter 
I also did think that lateral hazards were dropped from the last point of entry. Is this not the case
post #874 of 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleAnthony View Post


the wind really was the main factor in most. Not all. But I had some great drives and the wind took them off course. For wind reference. I hit my 3 wood 260 normally. On one hole down wind. It's a 388 yard par 4 I hit my 3 wood in the green side bunker. Haha but I found my ball in the water on 10 and pulled it out with my putter. 2 I saw splash in the water in the canal. And the other was in the water on this par 5 which I also pulled out since it just rolled in lol.

 

Sadly golf is all about playing out in nature. So, a great drive would have taken consideration of the wind. If you are still pounding golf balls into hazards because they come into range, then you shouldn't be hitting 3 wood or driver. Adjustments are part of the game ya?

post #875 of 934
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by saevel25 View Post

Sadly golf is all about playing out in nature. So, a great drive would have taken consideration of the wind. If you are still pounding golf balls into hazards because they come into range, then you shouldn't be hitting 3 wood or driver. Adjustments are part of the game ya?
Ya. I guess I'm not completely used to wind play. I'm afraid if I play the wind to much I'll end up way off haha.
post #876 of 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleAnthony View Post

I also did think that lateral hazards were dropped from the last point of entry. Is this not the case

No, that's correct.  Find the point (as best as you can estimate) that it crossed into the hazard and drop within 2 clublengths.  In the case of a canal, keep in mind that you have another option as well:  If you want, you can drop on the other side of the canal (equidistant from the hole - you can't get closer obviously) if it happens to be the better option.

 

For example:  There is a hole where you tee off with the canal immediately to your right.  It looks to be about a 405 yard Par 4 from the back tees.  (I've never played there, so I don't know which hole it is, but I'm looking at it on Google Maps)  The canal stays on your right all the way until about 315 from the tee then the hole crosses over the canal and the canal passes to the left of the green.

 

So if you hit a good drive to 270, for example, but then dump your approach into the canal, assuming its marked as a lateral the whole way, you can go around to the rightward fairway and drop over there for your next shot (no closer to the hole mind you) and avoid having to clear the canal again.  That would make for a much easier 4th shot. :beer:

 

And, of course, you can always - always - replay the shot if you'd like.

 


 

One other totally random piece of (hopefully helpful) info:

 

The word is spelled "yeah," not "ya."  "Ya" is slang for "you."  I read the word wrong in my head everytime you write it. :beer:

post #877 of 934
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfingdad View Post

No, that's correct.  Find the point (as best as you can estimate) that it crossed into the hazard and drop within 2 clublengths.  In the case of a canal, keep in mind that you have another option as well:  If you want, you can drop on the other side of the canal (equidistant from the hole - you can't get closer obviously) if it happens to be the better option.

For example:  There is a hole where you tee off with the canal immediately to your right.  It looks to be about a 405 yard Par 4 from the back tees.  (I've never played there, so I don't know which hole it is, but I'm looking at it on Google Maps)  The canal stays on your right all the way until about 315 from the tee then the hole crosses over the canal and the canal passes to the left of the green.

So if you hit a good drive to 270, for example, but then dump your approach into the canal, assuming its marked as a lateral the whole way, you can go around to the rightward fairway and drop over there for your next shot (no closer to the hole mind you) and avoid having to clear the canal again.  That would make for a much easier 4th shot. c2_beer.gif

And, of course, you can always - always - replay the shot if you'd like.

One other totally random piece of (hopefully helpful) info:

The word is spelled "yeah," not "ya."  "Ya" is slang for "you."  I read the word wrong in my head everytime you write it. c2_beer.gif
That's awesome. I never knew you have a choice as far as canals. I hope to play that course a lot more so thank you for the info. And wow I'm going to have a heck of a time typing yeah and not ya lol. That's a huge habit of mine
post #878 of 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleAnthony View Post


That's awesome. I never knew you have a choice as far as canals. I hope to play that course a lot more so thank you for the info. And wow I'm going to have a heck of a time typing yeah and not ya lol. That's a huge habit of mine

I wouldn't say it's "awesome," but it's really nice to know all of your options.  There aren't that many situations where that rule could come in handy, but you want to have it in your back pocket for the rare occasions where it could.

 

The only time I've used it was at Monarch Beach.  If you remember the first par 5, hole #7, plays across a river to the fairway, then back across the same river to the green.  If you go into the hazard on your approach to the green, it's likely that you could exercise that option there as well.  The downside is that you are limited to two clublengths, whereas if you stay at the actual point where you enter the hazard, you can also go back on a line away from the hole.  This means that you could back up a few yards if need be to get a better lie in the fairway.  If you choose the option on the other side of the hazard, you're stuck at the point.

 

I could also see it as potentially useful at Tukwet Champions 4, 11, and 16.

 

The better option, though, is to stay out of the hazard in the first place. :-P 

post #879 of 934
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfingdad View Post

I wouldn't say it's "awesome," but it's really nice to know all of your options.  There aren't that many situations where that rule could come in handy, but you want to have it in your back pocket for the rare occasions where it could.

The only time I've used it was at Monarch Beach.  If you remember the first par 5, hole #7, plays across a river to the fairway, then back across the same river to the green.  If you go into the hazard on your approach to the green, it's likely that you could exercise that option there as well.  The downside is that you are limited to two clublengths, whereas if you stay at the actual point where you enter the hazard, you can also go back on a line away from the hole.  This means that you could back up a few yards if need be to get a better lie in the fairway.  If you choose the option on the other side of the hazard, you're stuck at the point.

I could also see it as potentially useful at Tukwet Champions 4, 11, and 16.

The better option, though, is to stay out of the hazard in the first place. b2_tongue.gif  
Haha yes staying out would be best. Funny thing is. On champions #4 I aim for the creek because I either hit pushes or draws but on that hole it's always a perfect draw right in the crap. Good to know I can drop either side
post #880 of 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleAnthony View Post


Haha yes staying out would be best. Funny thing is. On champions #4 I aim for the creek because I either hit pushes or draws but on that hole it's always a perfect draw right in the crap. Good to know I can drop either side

Also, in a situation like Champions #4, don't make the mistake of finding your ball and then dropping either side of the hazard from where it ended.  You have to drop either side from where it last crossed into the hazard, which on that hole, I think could be 50-70 yards further back form where it ends up, if it goes straight in.

post #881 of 934
Thread Starter 

played a round after work today with some buddies. shot my lowest score since i started playing again back in september. i shot a 39-43 82. i hit 8/14 fairways 9/18 greens and 33 putts. but 3 penalty shots. i had back to back birdies on 3 and 4 and another on 10. i was pretty excited except i missed 4 putts under 5 feet for birdies. i stayed calm and didn't get crazy trying to kill the ball and i made much better contact. i'll be at the range tomorrow for awhile. should post a video on my swing thread too.

post #882 of 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleAnthony View Post

played a round after work today with some buddies. shot my lowest score since i started playing again back in september. i shot a 39-43 82. i hit 8/14 fairways 9/18 greens and 33 putts. but 3 penalty shots. i had back to back birdies on 3 and 4 and another on 10. i was pretty excited except i missed 4 putts under 5 feet for birdies. i stayed calm and didn't get crazy trying to kill the ball and i made much better contact. i'll be at the range tomorrow for awhile. should post a video on my swing thread too.
Nice job. Now stop ****ing around with the penalty shots off the tee!
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › The KyleAnthony Golf Opera Thread