or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ball in Golf Cart
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Ball in Golf Cart

post #1 of 9
Thread Starter 

This is an interesting scenario

 

You hit your shot, the ball ends up on the floor of your golf car. Can you then proceed to drive your golf cart to a better location for a drop? 

 

Just curious. 

post #2 of 9

Matt, we should ask you this question: isn't your golf car also your equipment?

post #3 of 9
Thread Starter 

USGA considers the golf cart equipment. If two people are sharing the cart, then it is considered equipment for both of them. 

post #4 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by saevel25 View Post
 

USGA considers the golf cart equipment. If two people are sharing the cart, then it is considered equipment for both of them. 

 

Yes, and next, read 19/1.

post #5 of 9
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post
 

 

Yes, and next, read 19/1.

 

Yea that works :-D

post #6 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post
 

 

Yes, and next, read 19/1.

 

More importantly, 19-2.

post #7 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post
 

More importantly, 19-2.

 

Well that's just skipping ahead. C'mon now, patience! :D

post #8 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post
 

 

Well that's just skipping ahead. C'mon now, patience! :D

 

I didn't go to med school.  I have no patients.  :-D

post #9 of 9

Stroke play. Ball in cart.

 

1) Its your cart.  1 PS, move the cart, drop the ball.

 

2) It's your fellow competitor's cart, no penalty, move the cart, drop the ball.

 

3) If you are sharing the cart, it's not moving, regardless if the person you are sharing the cart with is sitting in it, still 1 PS.  Move the cart, drop the ball.

 

4) You are sharing the cart which was being driven by the person you are sharing it with, (the cart was moving when you hit it), no penalty.  Drop the ball where the cart was when the ball entered it.

 

Match Play Ball in Cart

 

1) It's your cart.  Same as 1) in stroke play.

 

2) Opponent's cart.  No penalty, move the cart, drop the ball.  As an additional option only in match play you can replay the stroke as another option.  You must replay the stroke BEFORE your opponent plays his next stroke, however.  Otherwise, you can just proceed as 2) above.

 

3)Sharing the cart.....same as 3) in stroke play.

 

4)  Sharing but driven by opponent....no penalty.  Can replay the stroke as an option.

 

 

As discussed, if you are sharing a cart, unless it's being driven (moving) by the other person sharing the cart, everything in it is deemed to be your equipment.......including the guy sitting in it waiting for you to play.  So don't hit him.  1 PS.  :~(

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ball in Golf Cart