or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ball in woods hit further in
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Ball in woods hit further in

post #1 of 7
Thread Starter 
What is the rule if when taking an unplayable either 2 club rule or going backward still results in an unplayable lie. Yesterday guy hit into woods. Tried to hit out and ball hit tree and went way further into woods. What are his options now (along with penalty strokes).
Edited by cliffj - 1/29/14 at 9:05am
post #2 of 7

1) Play it where it lies

2) Replay from the previous spot (in the trees not where he hit from to get in the trees originally) - 1 shot penalty

3) 2 club lengths from where the ball lies now - not nearer the hole - 1 shot penalty

4) Go back as far as he wants on a line going through where his ball finishes and the pin - 1 shot penalty

 

Things can get ugly when this happens, Kevin Na had it a couple of years ago in a PGA event and clocked up a double figure score.

post #3 of 7

Hi Cliff,

 

Couple of decisions that might help..  A player that wants to deem his ball unplayable needs to consider the drop area carefully.  At times the best option may be to replay the stroke from the previous spot.

 

This will help when reading the decisions.

 

28a Replay from the previous spot.

28b Drop on an extended line from the flagstick to the ball.

28c Drip within two club lengths.

 

 

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-28/#d28-3

 

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-28/#d28-6.5

post #4 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffj View Post

What is the rule if when taking an unplayable either 2 club rule or going backward still results in an unplayable lie. Yesterday guy hit into woods. Tried to hit out and ball hit tree and went way further into woods. What are his options now (along with penalty strokes).

 

When he played the shot in trees, he sealed his fate.  Sounds from the description like his best option is to try the hero shot again and hope he misses the tree this time.  One needs to examine not only the options of the current shot, but the ramifications if it goes wrong.

post #5 of 7

I should have read your question more carefully.  You asked what to do if the player has played another stroke after taking an unplayable.  Sorry.

 

This example/decision is more relevant.  It's what Wansteadimp said.

 

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-28/#d28-5

 

Unlike Rule 26, playing from a hazard, there is no "regression" under the unplayable ball rule.

post #6 of 7

It is interesting that the Course Rating formula gives a figure for the likelihood of a scratch player being able to get to his next target (whatever that might be). 75-100%, 50-75%, etc.

No such rating adjustment is given for the bogey player. The premise seems to be that, they will go for the hero shot whatever the odds. And won't make it !!

post #7 of 7
Thread Starter 
Thanks all
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ball in woods hit further in