or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Can someone explain why.......
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Can someone explain why.......

post #1 of 8
Thread Starter 
Can someone explain why Bubba was given relief, when is ball was in a bush, he could get a club on it it was during today's , 3rd round of the waste management, maybe the 13th hole - the same hole tiger got his 800 lb loose impediment by fans.

Back to the ruling, it had something to do with a burrowed hole, I was way from the TV at times so I never heard the full ruling of why he could remove his ball, take a drop without any penalty.
post #2 of 8
He received relief under rule 25-1 from an abnormal ground condition. In this case, a hole from a burrowing animal interfered with the path of his intended backswing.

Abnormal Ground Conditions

An “abnormal ground condition” is any casual water, ground under repair or hole, cast or runway on the course made by a burrowing animal, a reptile or a bird



Great catch on Bubba's part!
post #3 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfisher View Post

Can someone explain why Bubba was given relief, when is ball was in a bush, he could get a club on it it was during today's , 3rd round of the waste management, maybe the 13th hole - the same hole tiger got his 800 lb loose impediment by fans.

Back to the ruling, it had something to do with a burrowed hole, I was way from the TV at times so I never heard the full ruling of why he could remove his ball, take a drop without any penalty.

 The TV couldn't show the abnormal ground condition from which he was granted relief. However, if the talking people are to be believed, there was an:

 

Abnormal Ground Conditions - An “abnormal ground condition” is any casual waterground under repair or hole, cast or runway on the course made by a burrowing animal, a reptile or a bird.

 

Rule 25 informs us that: 

25-1. Abnormal Ground Conditions - a. Interference - Interference by an abnormal ground condition occurs when a ball lies in or touches the condition or when the condition interferes with the player’s stance or the area of his intended swing. 

and, 

b. Relief - Except when the ball is in a water hazard or a lateral water hazard, a player may take relief from interference by an abnormal ground condition as follows:

(i)Through the Green: If the ball lies through the green, the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief

post #4 of 8
Thread Starter 
Interesting, it looked as though he was in a hazard as well, oh well.

I bet the PGA switch board lit up like a Christmas tree
post #5 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfisher View Post

Interesting, it looked as though he was in a hazard as well, oh well.

I bet the PGA switch board lit up like a Christmas tree

 I wasn't a bunker. Did you notice yellow or red stakes or lines surrounding the area? The relief procedure from abnormal ground conditions appeared to be in order. 

post #6 of 8
It was a waste area through-the-green. I believe, on the same hole that a Tiger famously received help from the gallery to move a thousand pound "loose impediment", years ago....
post #7 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

He received relief under rule 25-1 from an abnormal ground condition. In this case, a hole from a burrowing animal interfered with the path of his intended backswing.

Abnormal Ground Conditions

An “abnormal ground condition” is any casual water, ground under repair or hole, cast or runway on the course made by a burrowing animal, a reptile or a bird



Great catch on Bubba's part!

Wascally Wabbit!

post #8 of 8

25-1b Exception did not apply.

 

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Can someone explain why.......