or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Chipping on the green.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Chipping on the green. - Page 2

post #19 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

Think "any place" vs "any club."

 

There are places "on the course" that you may not be allowed to make any stroke at all, an environmentally sensitive area for example, but that's not what you're going for, is it?

 

Good thinking, David. I hadn't thought of that "place." As well as GUR from which play is prohibited, there is another ... wrong putting green.

 

I wonder if we can think of some others. 

post #20 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

Good thinking, David. I hadn't thought of that "place." As well as GUR from which play is prohibited, there is another ... wrong putting green.

 

I wonder if we can think of some others.

 

Outside of the designated teeing area for your tee shot.....

 

.....I guess that's not prohibited so much as penalized.

post #21 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

Good thinking, David. I hadn't thought of that "place." As well as GUR from which play is prohibited, there is another ... wrong putting green.

 

I wonder if we can think of some others.

 

Outside of the designated teeing area for your tee shot.....

 

.....I guess that's not prohibited so much as penalized.

 

 

The grumpy Rules Official departs his cart parked in the shade to say, "Hold it, son! The Rules don't permit you to make a stroke at your ball from that ...."

 

1) Environmentally sensitive area

2) GUR from which play is prohibited

3) Wrong putting green

4) Another one or two which some real expert, such as Rulesman or rogolf, will uncover.

5) Then an infinite number of things like the ball is teed up on a 6" tee or a soda can. 

post #22 of 52

I'm still gonna call foul on your original post, in the context of my response to the OP.

 

In any place you're allowed to make a stroke, you may use any club to do so.

 

:-P

post #23 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

I'm still gonna call foul on your original post, in the context of my response to the OP.

In any place you're allowed to make a stroke, you may use any club to do so.

b2_tongue.gif

Agreed. The question was not "not allowed to make a stroke at all."
post #24 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post
 

I'm still gonna call foul on your original post, in the context of my response to the OP.

 

In any place you're allowed to make a stroke, you may use any club to do so.

 

:-P

 

Mea culpa, David. It's still snowing in Asheville and we've had more posts here this morning than in the whole previous week. 

post #25 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

Mea culpa, David. It's still snowing in Asheville and we've had more posts here this morning than in the whole previous week.

 

That's ok, it was a fun diversion.  I was kind of hoping there was something I was missing, it would've made a great beer bet on the course!

 

:beer:

post #26 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

Mea culpa, David. It's still snowing in Asheville and we've had more posts here this morning than in the whole previous week.

 

That's ok, it was a fun diversion.  I was kind of hoping there was something I was missing, it would've made a great beer bet on the course!

 

:beer:

 

Part of the "fun" is how extraordinarily careful we must be when making statements about the Rules. Our friend, ColinL, who's in the "word" business in Scotland is as good as any, but we tread on thin ice when we try to explain the Rules in any words other than those in the Rule itself.

 

Secondly, I find it fun to try to make Lew Blakey-like lists. 

post #27 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

 

Back to "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." I can think of one instance when that statement might not apply..

The 15th club ?

post #28 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

 

Back to "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." I can think of one instance when that statement might not apply..

The 15th club ?

 

Good, we'll add that one to the list.

post #29 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

Good, we'll add that one to the list.

 

I mentioned that earlier, along with a club damaged outside of normal course of play.

post #30 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

Good, we'll add that one to the list.

 

I mentioned that earlier, along with a club damaged outside of normal course of play.

 

Hmm, Lew Blakey might now make this into two lists. One for places on the course from which we're forbidden by the Rules to make a stroke and a second for clubs with which we're forbidden by the Rules to make a stroke.

 

Didn't we go through a similar exercise last year when we began a list of times that a player was required by the Rules to notify his opponent or fellow-competitor of something? I seem to remember that was productive, too. (Most of the world would not think of it as "productive" the same way we do here, though :)

post #31 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

Hmm, Lew Blakey might now make this into two lists. One for places on the course from which we're forbidden by the Rules to make a stroke and a second for clubs with which we're forbidden by the Rules to make a stroke.

 

 

That's going to be a short one.:whistle:

post #32 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinL View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

Hmm, Lew Blakey might now make this into two lists. One for places on the course from which we're forbidden by the Rules to make a stroke and a second for clubs with which we're forbidden by the Rules to make a stroke.

 

 

That's going to be a short one.:whistle:

 

What should I have said about a list of clubs such as a 15th or a damaged one?

 

I hadn't envisioned a list of clubs, only a list of places, in the beginning of this "cannot play golf because it's snowing, so let's cause trouble on the Sandtrap" sort of a day.  :-P

post #33 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post
 

The 15th club ?

I believe that you are penalized for carrying 15 clubs not for using the 15th. Which one is the 15th?

post #34 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post

What should I have said about a list of clubs such as a 15th or a damaged one?

I hadn't envisioned a list of clubs, only a list of places, in the beginning of this "cannot play golf because it's snowing, so let's cause trouble on the Sandtrap" sort of a day.  b2_tongue.gif

Let's face it....rules guys are weird.

I'm ok with that.
post #35 of 52
One is not permitted to use a non-conforming club.

Here's a question (that may have been addressed previously) - in stroke play, a player begins his round with 15 clubs, one of which is non-conforming. The error is discovered during play of the first hole and he has not made a stroke with the non-conforming club. How many penalty strokes will be assigned to the player and why?
post #36 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogolf View Post

One is not permitted to use a non-conforming club.

Here's a question (that may have been addressed previously) - in stroke play, a player begins his round with 15 clubs, one of which is non-conforming. The error is discovered during play of the first hole and he has not made a stroke with the non-conforming club. How many penalty strokes will be assigned to the player and why?

 

Hmmm.  I guess you are not asking that question because you don't know the answer.  :whistle:

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Chipping on the green.