or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Picking up my opponents ball
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Picking up my opponents ball

post #1 of 5
Thread Starter 

During a game of stableford on the ninth hole I told my playing partners I was going ahead into the clubhouse to go to the toilet because I couldn't score and to save time. I picked up the wrong ball witness by two of the other players but not the one whose ball it was and proceeded .I was not marking that players ball.What is the ruling?

post #2 of 5
Stableford is a form of stroke play. The ball is replaced and there is no penalty.

Rule 18-4 pertains.

Had you been a match play opponent, you would have incurred a penalty of one stroke.
post #3 of 5
Thread Starter 

But I was in the rest room in the clubhouse with his ball in my pocket.

post #4 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by paddymahon View Post

But I was in the rest room in the clubhouse with his ball in my pocket.

Were you there all day? a2_wink.gif

Under rule 1-4, in equity, I would allow the player to substitute another ball in place of the one you removed.
post #5 of 5
Thread Starter 

Thank you I don't feel that bad now.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Picking up my opponents ball