or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Practice in Stroke Play
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Practice in Stroke Play

post #1 of 11
Thread Starter 

My local course hosts a two day stroke play tournament which garners quite a field.  Is it permissible to "redo" a missed putt once you've holed out?  I did this and one the members of the group took exception to it.  It was my understanding of 7-2 that it's OK as long as it's not prohibited by a local rule or delays play.

post #2 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutmeghacker View Post
 

My local course hosts a two day stroke play tournament which garners quite a field.  Is it permissible to "redo" a missed putt once you've holed out?  I did this and one the members of the group took exception to it.  It was my understanding of 7-2 that it's OK as long as it's not prohibited by a local rule or delays play.

 

You are correct.  If the local rule is not in play, then practicing putting or chipping on the green just finished or on the tee is allowed.  You can quote Rule 7-2:

 

 

Quote:
 

7-2. During Round

A player must not make a practice stroke during play of a hole.

Between the play of two holes a player must not make a practice stroke, except that he may practice putting or chipping on or near:

a. the putting green of the hole last played,

b. any practice putting green, or

c. the teeing ground of the next hole to be played in the round, provided a practice stroke is not made from a hazard and does not unduly delay play (Rule 6-7).

Strokes made in continuing the play of a hole, the result of which has been decided, are not practice strokes.

post #3 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutmeghacker View Post
 

My local course hosts a two day stroke play tournament which garners quite a field.  Is it permissible to "redo" a missed putt once you've holed out?  I did this and one the members of the group took exception to it.  It was my understanding of 7-2 that it's OK as long as it's not prohibited by a local rule or delays play.

 

Armed with the concept that "If the Rules don't say you can't, then you can," you could fish the Rules book out of your bag and ask, politely, "Could you please show me that Rule."

post #4 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutmeghacker View Post
 

My local course hosts a two day stroke play tournament which garners quite a field.  Is it permissible to "redo" a missed putt once you've holed out?  I did this and one the members of the group took exception to it.  It was my understanding of 7-2 that it's OK as long as it's not prohibited by a local rule or delays play.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

Armed with the concept that "If the Rules don't say you can't, then you can," you could fish the Rules book out of your bag and ask, politely, "Could you please show me that Rule."

 

I'm curious, did anyone have a rule book?

post #5 of 11

A lot of people are confused because the PGA tour plays with this local rule during stroke play tournaments..

They watch tv and never see the players putt again after a miss, but they see it during match play on TV, so they think that's the rule.

post #6 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dormie1360 View Post
 

 

 

I'm curious, did anyone have a rule book?

 

Absolutely and it is in my bag all the time.  But, I play in a lot of tournaments each year so it is good to have one for cases just as the one being discussed in this thread.

post #7 of 11

I did not realise this rule until pointed out by this thread. I know tried it once and got a bit of a slap on the wrists by an old member i was playing with. I wonder how well known it is that you can practice on the previous holes green?

post #8 of 11

While permitted by the Rules, one must be cautious.  Our City Championships use a Condition of Competition for the events that prohibits practice putting or chipping around the green of the last hole played.  My feeling is this condition is used fairly frequently in amateur events (pace of play issue).

post #9 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkuehn1952 View Post
 

While permitted by the Rules, one must be cautious.  Our City Championships use a Condition of Competition for the events that prohibits practice putting or chipping around the green of the last hole played.  My feeling is this condition is used fairly frequently in amateur events (pace of play issue).

It is more common in pro events. Usually only in amateur events where the organisers are wanabe big event organisers.

post #10 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by FooFader View Post
 

I did not realise this rule until pointed out by this thread. I know tried it once and got a bit of a slap on the wrists by an old member i was playing with. I wonder how well known it is that you can practice on the previous holes green?

Yeah ... I didn't realize this either.  It made me curious so I went and looked at the Hard Card for the tournaments I play in, and sure enough, they try and copy the pros on this one:

 

http://thegolfchannel.bluegolf.com/bluegolf/thegolfchannel14/event/thegolfchannel14322/agenda.htm?agenda=0acda4ed-0171-49e2-ac03-f03d888ab276

post #11 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post
 

It is more common in pro events. Usually only in amateur events where the organisers are wanabe big event organisers.

 

We have that only on the highest national level tour.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Practice in Stroke Play