or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › A really stupid/silly question...
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

A really stupid/silly question...

post #1 of 19
Thread Starter 

So I'm sittin' here reading Golf magazine and i'm going through "Ask the Rule Guy." 

 

Someone explains to the rule guy that his friend double hits his ball from time to time, but the other day he TRIPLE hit it. The rules guy explains that the friend can only be given a 2 stroke penalty, then he goes on to say that even if he hit the ball a baker's dozen in one swing...it's still only a two stroke penalty. 

That got me thinking, hypothetically, if someone could pop the ball up off the tee and bounce it off the club face ALL THE WAY to the hole...would it still be just a two stroke penalty? Or would there be some sort of rule against this? Obviously it would be dumb, and you'd be taking a big risk, but if someone perfected it....

post #2 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crim View Post
 

So I'm sittin' here reading Golf magazine and i'm going through "Ask the Rule Guy." 

 

Someone explains to the rule guy that his friend double hits his ball from time to time, but the other day he TRIPLE hit it. The rules guy explains that the friend can only be given a 2 stroke penalty, then he goes on to say that even if he hit the ball a baker's dozen in one swing...it's still only a two stroke penalty. 

That got me thinking, hypothetically, if someone could pop the ball up off the tee and bounce it off the club face ALL THE WAY to the hole...would it still be just a two stroke penalty? Or would there be some sort of rule against this? Obviously it would be dumb, and you'd be taking a big risk, but if someone perfected it....

So you're wondering if Tiger kept bouncing the ball in large advances forward on his wedge, similar to what he does in commercials or while practicing, if he could legitimately get the ball to the green from the tee on a Par 5 and putt for eagle after his 500 yard circus act?

post #3 of 19
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyder View Post
 

So you're wondering if Tiger kept bouncing the ball in large advances forward on his wedge, similar to what he does in commercials or while practicing, if he could legitimately get the ball to the green from the tee on a Par 5 and putt for eagle after his 500 yard circus act?

Exactly.

post #4 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crim View Post
 

Exactly.

 

The Rules cover that too.

 

I think it's right in Rule 1 with language regarding a "serious breach" or something that results in a DQ.

post #5 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyder View Post
 

So you're wondering if Tiger kept bouncing the ball in large advances forward on his wedge, similar to what he does in commercials or while practicing, if he could legitimately get the ball to the green from the tee on a Par 5 and putt for eagle after his 500 yard circus act?

That is totally wrong and just silly.    

 

 

He would be putting for double eagle, not eagle.  ;-)

post #6 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtleback View Post
 

He would be putting for double eagle, not eagle.  ;-)

 

One shot and one penalty is two, putting for three.

 

Rule 1-2, btw:

 

 
Quote:
1-2. Exerting Influence on Ball

A player or Caddie must not take any action to influence the position or the movement of a ball except in accordance with the Rules.
(Removal of loose impediment — see Rule 23-1.)
(Removal of movable obstruction — see Rule 24-1.)

*Penalty for Breach of Rule 1-2Match play — Loss of hole; Stroke play — Two strokes.
*In the case of a serious breach of Rule 1-2, the Committee may impose a penalty of disqualification.

Note:A player is deemed to have committed a serious breach of Rule 1-2 if the Committee considers that his act of influencing the position or movement of the ball has allowed him or another player to gain a significant advantage or has placed another player, other than his Partner, at a significant disadvantage.

 

post #7 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crim View Post
 

So I'm sittin' here reading Golf magazine and i'm going through "Ask the Rule Guy." 

 

Someone explains to the rule guy that his friend double hits his ball from time to time, but the other day he TRIPLE hit it. The rules guy explains that the friend can only be given a 2 stroke penalty, then he goes on to say that even if he hit the ball a baker's dozen in one swing...it's still only a two stroke penalty. 

That got me thinking, hypothetically, if someone could pop the ball up off the tee and bounce it off the club face ALL THE WAY to the hole...would it still be just a two stroke penalty? Or would there be some sort of rule against this? Obviously it would be dumb, and you'd be taking a big risk, but if someone perfected it....

 

 

That is the exact same thing I thought when I read that.

post #8 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crim View Post
 

So I'm sittin' here reading Golf magazine and i'm going through "Ask the Rule Guy."

 

Someone explains to the rule guy that his friend double hits his ball from time to time, but the other day he TRIPLE hit it. The rules guy explains that the friend can only be given a 2 stroke penalty, then he goes on to say that even if he hit the ball a baker's dozen in one swing...it's still only a two stroke penalty. 

That got me thinking, hypothetically, if someone could pop the ball up off the tee and bounce it off the club face ALL THE WAY to the hole...would it still be just a two stroke penalty? Or would there be some sort of rule against this? Obviously it would be dumb, and you'd be taking a big risk, but if someone perfected it....

 

 

Just a clarification.  The Rule is 1 PS no matter how many times you hit it.  1PS plus the actual stroke for a total of two strokes.

post #9 of 19
Just make sure he's not anchoring the pitching wedge
post #10 of 19

Each time he moves his club to hit the ball he is making a stroke (see definition). In addition he would be in breach of 14-5 every time. :-O

post #11 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post
 

Each time he moves his club to hit the ball he is making a stroke (see definition). In addition he would be in breach of 14-5 every time. :-O

 

That would require too much effort on my part.  I would just DQ him under 1-1 and 33-7 and be done with it.  :naughty:

post #12 of 19

1-1 does not carry a penalty ;-)

post #13 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post
 

1-1 does not carry a penalty ;-)

 

Yeah I know, I figured 33-7 could still be used..  OK, 14-5 and 33-7 then.  He'd still be history.  :naughty:

post #14 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post
 

 

One shot and one penalty is two, putting for three.

 

Rule 1-2, btw:

 

 

Duh!!!  Silly me.

post #15 of 19

You guys have way too much time on your hands for stupid threads like this

post #16 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyc View Post
 

You guys have way too much time on your hands for stupid threads like this

 

Sorry, but I see value to something like this.

 

The challenge in understanding the rules is in being able to apply them to unusual situations.  The situation described in the OP is pretty outlandish, but the process of working through to the correct ruling demonstrates how the rules can be properly applied in any event.

post #17 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

Sorry, but I see value to something like this.

The challenge in understanding the rules is in being able to apply them to unusual situations.  The situation described in the OP is pretty outlandish, but the process of working through to the correct ruling demonstrates how the rules can be properly applied in any event.
Agree! Deductive reasoning rocks!!!!
post #18 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfingdad View Post


Agree! Deductive reasoning rocks!!!!

People with kids are pros at this.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › A really stupid/silly question...