or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Marked Ball Falls in Hole after Replacing
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Marked Ball Falls in Hole after Replacing

post #1 of 5
Thread Starter 

I have another one- If you mark your ball a centimeter from the cup, replace it and it falls in the hole, what happens there? I remember in college reading the rule book and coming up with that. I asked my coach about it and he said "that would be a d*ck move" lol but never said it couldn't happen. 

post #2 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by GHIN0011458 View Post
 

I have another one- If you mark your ball a centimeter from the cup, replace it and it falls in the hole, what happens there? I remember in college reading the rule book and coming up with that. I asked my coach about it and he said "that would be a d*ck move" lol but never said it couldn't happen. 


If you addressed it, it's replaced and you receive a penalty stroke. 

 

If you had successfully replaced it, it was at rest with your mark removed, and it moves due to gravity on the slope, or a gust of wind, it's in.....just as if it had fallen with the previous stroke.

 

Doesn't have to be that close either......it could be from 30 feet away on top of a slope. 

post #3 of 5

16-2/0.5 Ball Overhanging Hole Is Lifted, Cleaned and Replaced; Ball Then Falls into Hole

 

Q. After an approach shot, a player's ball is overhanging the hole. The player walks up to the hole without unreasonable delay and notices that there is mud on the ball. The player marks the position of the ball and lifts it. He then cleans the ball and replaces it. The ball remains on the lip of the hole for about five seconds and then, as the player is preparing to tap it into the hole, the ball falls into the hole. What is the ruling?

 

A. Under Rule 16-2, if a ball falls into the hole after it is deemed to be at rest, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke and he shall add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole. In this case, when the player marked the position of the ball it must have been at rest. The ball must be considered to have been at rest when it was replaced; otherwise, it would have to be replaced again (Rule 20-3d). Accordingly, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole.

 

20-3d/1 Placed Ball Rolls into Hole

 

Q. A replaces his ball on the putting green three feet from the hole. As he is about to address the ball, it rolls into the hole. Should the ball be replaced or is A deemed to have holed out with his previous stroke?

 

A. The answer depends on whether the ball, when replaced, came to rest on the spot on which it was placed before it started rolling. If it did, A is deemed to have holed out with his previous stroke. If not, A is required to replace the ball (Rule 20-3d). However, if the ball had been overhanging the hole when it was lifted, the provisions of Rule 16-2 would override those of Rule 20-3d.

 

 

If the ball is not considered to be overhanging the hole, then it looks like one is home free.

post #4 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post
 


If you addressed it, it's replaced and you receive a penalty stroke. 

 

If you had successfully replaced it, it was at rest with your mark removed, and it moves due to gravity on the slope, or a gust of wind, it's in.....just as if it had fallen with the previous stroke.

 

Doesn't have to be that close either......it could be from 30 feet away on top of a slope. 

You don't need to remove the mark.  Once you replace the ball, if it's at rest-it's in play.

post #5 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by edwjmcgrath View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post
 


If you addressed it, it's replaced and you receive a penalty stroke. 

 

If you had successfully replaced it, it was at rest with your mark removed, and it moves due to gravity on the slope, or a gust of wind, it's in.....just as if it had fallen with the previous stroke.

 

Doesn't have to be that close either......it could be from 30 feet away on top of a slope. 

You don't need to remove the mark.  Once you replace the ball, if it's at rest-it's in play.

 

Yes.  

 

If the ball was truly lying just a centimeter from the hole then it had to be overhanging.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Marked Ball Falls in Hole after Replacing