When will tour players call out Keegan Bradley? - Page 5
TheSandTrap.com Top Picks
If you reduce the amount of grass sticking up behind the ball, so that there'll be less grass between the clubface and the ball, them that's improving your lie.
And how do you address the ball then? Hover above the grass or just place the clubhead behind the ball so there is still the grass in between?
If you're in the fairway, then no issues since there's not really any grass sticking up. If you're in the rough then you'd better not push down any grass directly behind the ball.
Funny you mention this. I followed him, Kuchar and Woodland for a little more than an hour last month. Didn't really see anything out of the ordinary. He was in the rough (trees, near bunkers, etc.), more than once.
13-2. Improving Lie, Area Of Intended Stance Or Swing, Or Line Of Play
A player must not improve or allow to be improved:
- the position or lie of his ball,
- the area of his intended Stance or swing,
- his Line Of Play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond theHole, or
- the area in which he is to drop or place a ball,
by any of the following actions:
- pressing a club on the ground,
- moving, bending or breaking anything growing or fixed (including immovable Obstructions and objects defining Out Of Bounds),
- creating or eliminating irregularities of surface,
- removing or pressing down sand, loose soil, replaced divots or other cut turf placed in position, or
- removing dew, frost or water.
However, the player incurs no penalty if the action occurs:
- in grounding the club lightly when Addressing The Ball,
- in fairly taking his Stance,
- in making a Stroke or the backward movement of his club for aStroke and the Stroke is made,
- in creating or eliminating irregularities of surface within the Teeing Ground or in removing dew, frost or water from the Teeing Ground, or
- on the Putting Green in removing sand and loose soil or in repairing damage (Rule 16-1).
As long as you don't press the club down, you are allowed to put it down behind the ball in the rough. The issue in this thread, is that players repeat this process 4-5 times and potentially improving the lie a little each time. I would like to see a comment on this from the USGA. If there are no rules to prohibit you from doing it 5 times, can you do it 10 times? 15? You don't even have to walk back and forth like Keegan. You can address the ball, step back, address it again, etc.