or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Caddie assist in lining up shot?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Caddie assist in lining up shot?

post #1 of 10
Thread Starter 

Can a caddie address or hold the club to the ball then have the player address the ball then swing? I caddie for my daughter at age 7. The other caddies are lining up the clubs for the kids and having them just swing. I am having a hard time finding what rule this would fall under. Also on the putting green they are doing the same thing and using their foot for the player to aim at then moving right before the swing.

post #2 of 10

I don't believe a caddie can address the ball, but they can line a club up.  I'm not sure how they could line the club up effectively without addressing the ball though.

post #3 of 10
A caddie can assist the player by lining up the club, including with the club immediately behind the ball.

However, placing a foot on the green to indicate the line for putting is a breach of Rule 8-2b and results in two-stroke penalty, even if the foot is removed before the ball is putted.

At age 7, the kids should be just permitted to play - no competition involved.
post #4 of 10
Thread Starter 
Thanks for the clarification and the help. I am just getting into golf and reading the rules are like doing your taxes. Thanks again and I look forward to hearing from you all again.
post #5 of 10
Thread Starter 

Can they physically touch the club while it is behind the ball? 

post #6 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kountrymike View Post
 

Can a caddie address or hold the club to the ball then have the player address the ball then swing? I caddie for my daughter at age 7. The other caddies are lining up the clubs for the kids and having them just swing. I am having a hard time finding what rule this would fall under. Also on the putting green they are doing the same thing and using their foot for the player to aim at then moving right before the swing.

 

For your first question, I'd say yes.  The caddie has a similar status to the partner under the rules.  This decision would seem to support that:

 

Quote:
 

14-2/1

Player Aligns Partner's Club Before Stroke

Q.A player aligns his partner's putter and then moves away before his partner plays. Is this permissible?

A.Yes. Rule 14-2 (Assistance) does not apply prior to making a stroke.

 

If they are touching the green with the foot while using that foot to indicate a line for putting, then they are already in breach.  If touching the line is just incidental, then there is no penalty, but the foot must be moved away before the stroke is made.

 

Quote:
 

8-2. Indicating Line Of Play

 

b. On the Putting Green

When the player’s ball is on the putting green, the player, his partner or either of their caddies may, before but not during the stroke, point out a line for putting, but in so doing the putting green must not be touched. A mark must not be placed anywhere to indicate a line for putting.

post #7 of 10

I was watchin an LPGA event last sunday (Lydia Ko won) and I noticed several instances wheres the caddies would stand back on the target line while the player was at address to confrm that they were properly aligned. Then they would move to the side and the player took the shot. I guess it's legal.

post #8 of 10
As long as they move before the stroke, it's legal.
post #9 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arturo28mx View Post
 

I was watchin an LPGA event last sunday (Lydia Ko won) and I noticed several instances wheres the caddies would stand back on the target line while the player was at address to confrm that they were properly aligned. Then they would move to the side and the player took the shot. I guess it's legal.

 

 

I saw that too. Even though it's within the rules, I'd like to see the Player have to choose their putting lines, after all, isn't that part of playing the game..?

post #10 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammer 4 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by arturo28mx View Post
 

I was watchin an LPGA event last sunday (Lydia Ko won) and I noticed several instances wheres the caddies would stand back on the target line while the player was at address to confrm that they were properly aligned. Then they would move to the side and the player took the shot. I guess it's legal.

 

 

I saw that too. Even though it's within the rules, I'd like to see the Player have to choose their putting lines, after all, isn't that part of playing the game..?

 

Sure, and it has always been part of the game to have your caddie assist you with it.  Ask anyone who has played in Scotland on vacation and hired a caddie.  They will tell you that a good caddie is easily worth 5 strokes just from his help in reading the greens.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Caddie assist in lining up shot?