or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › When to re-tee when to drop
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

When to re-tee when to drop

post #1 of 7
Thread Starter 
I had a argument with a friend about this just looking for a clear definition tried doing a little research just never found the answer

When you it a ball OB or in a water hazard etc what determines wether you can take a drop from when it crossed or wether you re-tee and your hitting 3 from the tee box
post #2 of 7
You ALWAYS have the option to replay your stroke under penalty of stroke and distance. If it is not known or virtually certain that your ball is in the hazard you MUST play under stroke and distance. (Or play a provisional)
post #3 of 7
I always thought water and OB are two different things, OB is teeing up again and hitting 3 and water you are dropping in the drop zone and hitting 3.. Am I wrong on this? Anyone?
post #4 of 7

You are only required to re-tee in two instances. 1. If your shot goes outside of the course boundary (either defined by white boundary stakes or a boundary fence) & 2. If your ball is lost

 

If you see your ball go into a water hazard, you have the option to drop.

 

As Dormie indicates above, you always have the option to re-tee playing 3. But you are only required to do so in the two instances above.

post #5 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmp2109 View Post

I had a argument with a friend about this just looking for a clear definition tried doing a little research just never found the answer

When you it a ball OB or in a water hazard etc what determines wether you can take a drop from when it crossed or wether you re-tee and your hitting 3 from the tee box

And you can find all of the specific options here: http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-01/

post #6 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmp2109 View Post

I had a argument with a friend about this just looking for a clear definition tried doing a little research just never found the answer

When you it a ball OB or in a water hazard etc what determines wether you can take a drop from when it crossed or wether you re-tee and your hitting 3 from the tee box

Out of Bounds: no choice but to play from where you played your last stroke with a 1 stroke penalty (Rule 27-1b).

 

Water hazard: as long as you know or are certain your ball is in a water hazard (yellow stakes or line)  you have the option of playing from where you played your last stroke or dropping any distance back on a line  from the hole through where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard.  If your ball is in a lateral water hazard (red stakes or line), you have these two options plus you can drop within 2 club lengths of where the ball last crossed the margin (not nearer the hole) or 2 club lengths from the point on the other side which is the same distance from the hole.  Have a look at Rule 26-1  http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-26/

 

If you can't find your ball and  there is any doubt about the ball being in the hazard, you must consider it lost after a maximum of 5 minutes searching and play from where you last played a stroke. (Rule 27-1c)

 

I suggest you leave Rule 26-2 for the moment - it's a bit complicated.

post #7 of 7
Thread Starter 

Thnaks for the responses guys that answers my question

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › When to re-tee when to drop