or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Hole in one question
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Hole in one question

post #1 of 8
Thread Starter 
I played a par 3 course a few weeks ago and on the first hole, the flag was out. I wasn't gonna walk the 135 yds to put it back in so I just teed off straight as an arrow it looked like the ball landed right in front of the flagstick, was slowed down by the stick and rolled a little more past. I made a nice 15 footer for birdie (second ever) and went on my merry way. It got me thinking, if the flag stick was left out and I'm somehow banked a shot off the stick and into the hole, would that be a legit hole in one?
post #2 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJCdude View Post

I played a par 3 course a few weeks ago and on the first hole, the flag was out. I wasn't gonna walk the 135 yds to put it back in so I just teed off straight as an arrow it looked like the ball landed right in front of the flagstick, was slowed down by the stick and rolled a little more past. I made a nice 15 footer for birdie (second ever) and went on my merry way. It got me thinking, if the flag stick was left out and I'm somehow banked a shot off the stick and into the hole, would that be a legit hole in one?

 

 

I would say its a hole in one. I mean its not a piece of your equipment so it wouldn't be a penalty. Though I believe if you putt the ball and hit the flag stick its a penalty. What if you happen to hit something else man made. Like this one hole is right near the gas refill tank for the carts. Its not a par 3, but if my ball hit that tank on the 2nd shot, and it went into the hole it counts as a 2. 

post #3 of 8
I'm going to say "no."

I am thinking it would be like if you were to make a putt and the flagstick was aligned to where the ball could hit the stick and go in the hole, it wouldn't count, shouldn't be any different....

But not 100% sure on this.
post #4 of 8
No idea, but I'd guess yes. It's not your fault somebody else left the stick down. Doesn't seem like it should be any different than another ball on the green or a pine cone that you didn't put there either.
post #5 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJCdude View Post

I played a par 3 course a few weeks ago and on the first hole, the flag was out. I wasn't gonna walk the 135 yds to put it back in so I just teed off straight as an arrow it looked like the ball landed right in front of the flagstick, was slowed down by the stick and rolled a little more past. I made a nice 15 footer for birdie (second ever) and went on my merry way. It got me thinking, if the flag stick was left out and I'm somehow banked a shot off the stick and into the hole, would that be a legit hole in one?


The stroke (and ace) count.

Decision 17-3/3 pertains......

17-3/3
Ball Strikes Flagstick Lying on Ground

Q.Generally, the player's ball must not strike the flagstick when removed from the hole (Rule 17-3). What is the ruling in the following situations:

(a) A player putts too strongly and his ball strikes the flagstick which has been removed by someone in his match or group and placed on the ground behind the hole.

(b) A player plays his second shot to the green and the ball strikes the flagstick, which had been blown down by the wind and was lying on the ground.

(c) A player, not believing he can reach the green which is occupied by the preceding match or group, plays his second shot at a par-5 hole and the ball rolls onto the green and strikes the flagstick which has been removed from the hole and placed on the ground by someone in the preceding match or group.


A.

(a) The player incurs a penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play under Rule 17-3a.

(b)&(c) No penalty is incurred. Rule 17-3a is not applicable in either case. It applies only when the flagstick has been removed with the player's authority or prior knowledge by someone in the player's match or group.
post #6 of 8
Something similar so situation (c) above happened in the 2001 Phoenix Open; Andrew Magee, not believing he could drive #17, hit a driver while the previous group was still on the green (his intent was to get within pitching/chipping distance). Turns out his belief was wrong, and he hit the green, banked the shot off of Tom Byrum's putter, and into the cup for the first - and so far, only - hole-in-one on a par-4 in PGA Tour history.
post #7 of 8
Thread Starter 

Thanks David!

post #8 of 8

If Karl Spackler says...........It's IN DA HOLE!    it counts!   LOL

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Hole in one question