or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Correct drop from a bunker that is GUR
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Correct drop from a bunker that is GUR

post #1 of 3
Thread Starter 
The course I play is putting proper drainage in their sand traps and new sand as well. They started last fall and finished 10 bunkers. As we speak, they are in the process of doing the other 28 bunkers (it could take a couple of months). Unlike last year, though, they are doing all 28 bunkers simultaneously. In other words, they are digging out all of these traps, then fixing the drainage in all the traps, and then will put sand in them. So, for a decent period of time, many of our traps will be played as GUR.

Would relief from one of these fall under rule 25-1b(1)? Basically, relief would be within 1 club length from the nearest point of relief that is no closer to the hole?

If this is the case, I assume if the nearest point of relief (which would be outside the gur bunker), could potentially be to the side of the bunker, thus taking the bunker completely out of play for your pitch shot.

Also, I've still been posting all scores to GHIN. Is that ok?
post #2 of 3
If a bunker is declared to be GUR then it loses its status as a hazard and is simply Through the Green. As you say Rule 25-1b applies. As it it is an approved 'local rule' your score qualifies under the Rules of Golf.
post #3 of 3
Thread Starter 
Thanks for confirming, Rulesman!
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Correct drop from a bunker that is GUR